We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on the basics”
Review of Super 8 Effingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Effingham
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good on the basics”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was located just off the interstate having great access. Also, it was in the middle of an area having great services: a number of restarants, gas stations and even shopping at a Walmart. The hotel was a basic Super 8. It was not luxurious, but met the basic requirments for a night. The room was clean and the bed was adequate. The staff was very freindly and helpful. A good value for a basic night's stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimgev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    224
    130
    37
    18
See reviews for
189
165
60
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed for 1 night and found the place exactly what you would expect for a Super 8. The staff was cordial and helpful with directions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetinman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Mo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Wife and I needed a place to stop on our way to a convention elsewhere. This proved to be just the right spot. Room was clean and the desk people were very helpful in providing information of services nearby. Not the biggest breakfast, but adequate to get us on our way.

Room Tip: Comfortable and adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrotherDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This motel was clean and in a good location. Not a 4-5 star but again for the money neat and clean.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

... one step above a Motel 6 (which is across the street). Two people/two beds in one room was the reason for choosing the 8 over the 6. Super 8's, including this one, usually have enough room on BOTH sides of the bed to walk. Not the case in most 6's.
It's a split level, rooms are either up or down. Didn't see an elevator. Two signs saying "No Semi-parking." But they did let us park our two 'non-semi's' there after asking if the refer's would be running. (they wouldn't be)
Check-in was OK. Room was clean and quiet. TV worked, fridge worked. Didn't use the microwave or coffee machine. Two of us in one room, still under $50 at a corp rate.
Very basic breakfast. Two kinds of juice, one kind of muffin, one kind of roll, two kinds of dry cereal, might have been a couple of more things but not much. Not an issue for me as I almost never eat that early in the AM (5 AM this stay)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The good:
Location- it is walking distance from a good variety of restaurants as well as some shopping. Probably one of the better hotel locations I've seen as far as nearby amenities goes.
Reasonably quiet- its a busy area but its far enough from the main road to keep noise to a minimum.
Breakfast- was only a few $ more than another chain motel that didn't include breakfast. Well worth the few extra dollars especially if you're not a solo traveler. You can't get a fast food breakfast for more than 1 person for the price difference.
Waffle machine- hot breakfast! Had butter, peanut butter and both regular and sugar free syrup.

The Bad:
These are specific to our stay and hopefully not the norm.
Room had an unpleasant odor when we entered, I always carry air freshener when travelling and that eliminated the issue.
Bathroom floor was sticky. Only noticed this in bare feet after shower, gross.
Breakfast area should be set up so you don't have to block the entry door while making your selections but its such a tiny area they would have to get creative.
The juice machine was either empty or not working. There was an employee sitting at a table reading in the little breakfast area. He really should have dealt with the juice machine issue instead of watching people try and fail to get drinks. He did finally get up and look at it after almost 10 minutes.


Overall it was a good place to spend one night while you're making your way to a final destination.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bersurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The staff isn't very friendly, the room was acceptably clean and probably below average for a Super 8, but it was okay. There are several restaurants within walking distance and a Walmart down the block if you need it. The breakfast was the standard white bread, white muffins, white bagel refined carb orgy, but they did have waffles. It was an okay stay, but nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gstxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 19 in Effingham
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Effingham
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
0.7 mi away
Best Western Delta Inn
Best Western Delta Inn
#5 of 19 in Effingham
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Effingham

Property: Super 8 Effingham
Address: 1400 Thelma Keller Ave, Effingham, IL 62401-4584
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Effingham 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Effingham
Effingham Super Eight
Effingham Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing