We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Mold, Pass this one by!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Effingham
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The place is OLD and tired. The mattress had a visible SAG in it. The carpets were FILTHY. There was MOLD in the shower and on the shower curtain... and to top it off we had a rodent of some sort (mouse? rat?) living in our room. The lobby had the distinct odor of marijuana and the guy working there was just plain CREEPY.

For the same price you can go to the SUPER 8 which is CLEAN, freshly painted, CLEAN carpets and conveniently located near walmart and many restaurants.

I highly do NOT suggest staying at the Econo Lodge unless you are desperate. It was a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed a night here on a cross country trip. Convenient location to the interstate, but so are a lot of other hotels that are probably nicer and in a better repair. We asked for a non-smoking room, but the room really smelled of smoke. Could have been because we were located on the 2nd floor above all of the 1st floor smoking rooms. Room was old and greatly needed to be redone. The wallpaper was peeling, the back of the door had a strange liquid running down it, and all of the outlets were hanging out of the wall. I am happy to have had my own blankets and pillow with me while staying here and I wore my flip flops in the shower. The front if the heater/ac fell off in the middle of the night and sounded like it was going to explode. The shower pressure honestly felt like a fire hose, very hard. Luckily, we were only here about 7 hours total, or I probably would have left. Went to the free breakfast buffet in the morning, but it smelled so bad we turned right around and left. I would pay a little more to stay somewhere nicer if passing through again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hill22785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is an econo lodge - keep that in mind

The rate was pretty good - i was looking at last minute. 20$ cheaper than comfort inn

this chain can be hit or miss and i took a chance after reading other reviews.

It is an older property - exterior corridors, worn look. Interior furnishings and carpet were not worn bad, and room was clean. Pool looked clean and well kept
breakfast was pretty standard but did have a waffle maker - not the rule for this chain

the exit this property is on is closed going southbound, so in the morning i had to follow detour to interstate but was not a hassle.

enough restaruant choices closeby and gas stations

Overall - not a bad choice for a quick overnight interstate stop

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

can see why this is usually a last resort kind of place, although the younger man at the front desk was MORE than accomodating and very pleasant...no bedbugs though and about the cheapest place in town...love the Niemerg's restaurant next door though i am curious why rooms in this burg fill up so fast ....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texsus853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

the people are nice here but the hotel is old and showing it's age. My room stunk and was falling apart.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomingoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was my third stay at this motel, no it's not a five star motel but your not paying five star prices either. Our rooms have always been clean, and well maintained. Office staff have always been very nice and will accommodate any request that is in their power to do! All my stays at this motel have always been pleasant and restful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcg505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This room smelled so bad we had to spray cologne all over it just to be able to breathe. I have stayed here before with no complaints, but the room we had was awful. We didn't even have toilet paper and only two towels for four people. Very unhappy. At least it was cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynolds4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Effingham
Super 8 Effingham
#6 of 19 in Effingham
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Effingham
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Effingham
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Effingham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Delta Inn
Best Western Delta Inn
#3 of 19 in Effingham
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 19 in Effingham
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Effingham

Address: 1412 W Fayette Ave, Effingham, IL 62401-1915 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Price Range: $55 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Effingham 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Effingham Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing