We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a little better for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expected a little better for the price”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a decent hotel with a good location. Room was good except bathtub was not very clean...the grout had some type of pink stain and the tub bottom was dingy. The hot tub was not working. Front desk staff when we arrived was not overly friendly...she just seemed like she was in a hurry to check us in and get rid of us. It was not very busy when we arrived. We've stayed at other Marriott properties for the same price and they were much nicer. There are MANY hotel options in Effingham so I'm not sure I would return to this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clpage5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    60
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
67
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellman, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Effingham for a car show at Mid America Motorworks. The last experience we had with an Effingham motel wasn't very pleasant so we decided to spend a bit more and get a nicer place to stay this time.

I was very impressed. The room was a typical size, but the bed was very comfortable.

They even had chocolate ice cream for my husband for sale in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wataugaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our restful overnight here. The entire facility seems new, but the warm, friendly staff made it feel homey. Pet-friendly (modest $10. fee), and easy access from interstate. We had booked ahead to ensure a room (Effingham a popular stop for travelers). Nearby Firefly Grill is a top-notch dining destination for a simple meal or blow-out celebration (we've done both there).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildswanDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring hill, tn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Where do I begin? Wow! From the smallest to the largest detail, this place has got it goin on! I called ahead with questions about the surrounding area and the staff was very informative. The room was incredible, the bed was so comfortable and then I find out that they were going to be changing the beds with them still being that comfortable! The curtains allowed me to black out the room for much needed sleep with the sun up. I love black pepper on most everything I eat and I thought it was so cool that even the picture of breakfast on the elevator door had black pepper on it. At breakfast, the sausage was well done, there was cheese near the eggs if you wanted it and there was even Tobasco sause available too! Oh, and after driving a motor coach all day it was so refreshing to get to soak my tired bones in the hot tub which stayed open til eleven o'clock considering most times you don't get back to the hotel til ten o'clock with most groups. I could go on and on. There were also plenty of channels on the tv and a helpful tv listings guide too. The Fairfield Inn & Suites is like an oasis in an urban desert.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly staff. We had a 2 double bed room and it was very large. The hot tub in the pool area was clean and worked out all the tension from driving 8 hours. The mattress in the room was literally like sleeping on a cloud. In addition to that, we had a free eggs, sausage and other items for breakfast in the morning. It is literally 2 blocks from I75 so fast off and on. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetirementTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 stayed here one night during a road trip. This hotel is conveniently located off the interstate and close to restaurants. We had a two room suite and it provided us with great space to relax. Staff was friendly and the breakfast met our needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was just passing through and I was too sick to continue my trip any further, so I decided to stay at this hotel. I was on the fourth floor and I did not hear any road noise during my stay. The beds were comfortable and the hotel has a list of nearby restaurants that deliver. I would stay here again. It is one of the nicer Fairfield Inn's I have stayed at. It is a little tricky to get too based on the signs and you will have to go down a rough road to get here. I was able to get a lower rate by mentioning the "special rates" sign they had in the front, which lowered the nightly rate by around $30.

My only complaint is the breakfast. It seemed pretty bad and they had no healthy options. The protein source was a boiled egg. No scrambled eggs, bacon, or sausage her. There isn't much to do in the area, but that should be expected. This hotel seems to target the travelers who are to weary to continue their drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Effingham
Holiday Inn Effingham
#6 of 19 in Effingham
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 19 in Effingham
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
Address: 1111 N Henrietta St, Effingham, IL 62401-1748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Effingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Effingham
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham Hotel Effingham
Fairfield Inn Effingham
Fairfield Effingham
Effingham Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing