We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

picked up a hotel saver on the road which advertised prices in the $70-75 range. showed up at hotel about 630pm and was told that those prices were no good and the only thing they had was for $120, no AAA discount, no nothing...we were tired so we didn't try anywhere else, but I will not stop there again. hotel was nice, but not $120 nice in Effingham, Illinois! "Hot" breakfast was also ok. Check in clerk was short and snippy, not very friendly. All in all a less than favorable experience.

Room Tip: call ahead and negotiate a rate before you show up and get taken for a lot more than the room is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflemi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

Staff was great, breakfast good, room VERY CLEAN, bed VERY COMFORTABLE. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed at this fairly large and nice Fairfield Inn on a recent business trip through the midwest. I found the hotel to be extremly clean and easily accessible to I-70. I was greated with a very friendly front desk staff and provided directions and a recommendation to a great nearby restaurant. NIce place to stay and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMarlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I usually stay in Hamptons, HIE's, etc. and consider Fairfields to be on the same "level." This Fairfield was nice enough, but didn't trip my trigger as an outstanding one. Room was small, and a little worn. Thermostat either had the room freezing or hot, even with one degree adjustment. Layout of room was strange also. All that said, it was a standard Fairfield. Would probably stay here again, although I heard that a new Hampton is being built, and I would go there before staying here next time.

The front desk clerk also sent my co-worker to an occupied room. It can happen, but it appeared the clerk was more interested in getting outside to smoke with her loitering boyfriend than get the guests situated.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illiniwek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

we stoped here moing with our cats. The pet fee was only $10, and the hotel was very nice. Very clean rooms, and the staff was very nice. I loved the bed. Nice flat screen TV with a microwave and fridge. Very happy with our stay, and would certainly stay here again.... especially if traveling with pets. We saw several other pets in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just from the looks of the hotel we thought it would be much more expensive than it was, and were pleasantly surprised at the room price. Room was spacious with extra furniture and all amenities, and bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorvik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This Fairfield must be new. Room was immaculate. Lobby and breakfast area so welcoming and warm. Staff friendly and knowledgeable.
Our first stay at a Fairfield. Recommend highly.
Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARRYHalesCorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Effingham
Holiday Inn Effingham
#8 of 19 in Effingham
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Delta Inn
Best Western Delta Inn
#4 of 19 in Effingham
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham

Address: 1111 N Henrietta St, Effingham, IL 62401-1748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#2 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range: $109 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham Hotel Effingham
Fairfield Inn And Suites Effingham
Fairfield Inn Effingham
Fairfield Effingham
Effingham Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing