We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in the area...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of firefly grill

firefly grill
Reserve with OpenTable
firefly grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Keller Drive
Description: Firefly Grill is a modern roadhouse restaurant located on the shores of Kristie Lake. Chef Niall Campbell and his wife Kristie own and operate this oasis of American fresh cuisine in the heart of the Midwest. Firefly's menu changes daily and boasts fresh seafood, oak fired steaks and brick oven pizzas. Firefly uses local ingredients whenever possible and fresh herbs and vegetables straight from their very own garden! Gluten-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian & All Special Diets - because we make our food to order, many of our offerings can accommodate multiple dietary considerations. Please alert your server and they will guide you to a special choice while ensuring our Chefs take extra care with your dishes.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you are in the area...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

At the intersection of I-57 and I-70 and next to the Effingham Performance Center, this spot is worthy of the trip to this down-state Illinois eatery. Looking like a barn as you drive up, inside is a contemporary upscale space with spacious seating flanked by an open kitchen and semi private bar. A side room adjacent to the main seating area overlooks a small pond and outside patio. Large windows add to the open feeling which can be enjoyed from nearly any table.

firefly boasts local products, some grown in their own gardens or meats from nearby farms and fresh seafood shipped in on a regular basis several times a week. There is a standard menu for regulars but a good offering of new and interesting dishes reflecting the local theme. As a party of four, all of us were more than satisfied with our choices and looking forward to another trip. Reservations are suggested for weekends and when there are shows at the adjacent performing center.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review and recommendation of our restaurant Dennis. We're very pleased that all of you enjoyed the ambiance & cuisine here at the firefly grill. Looking forward to having you back too and thanks again! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    129
    71
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Waist of time, and money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rude staff, food took over 45 minutes to get to our table, menu was unclear on many prices, very fine print claims 15% automatic gratuity which put our bill of 6 people over $235 because we each had a martini $10.50 (that was on special). Rediculous if you ask me. Will never go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We happened to see an add for the firefly and decided to stay the night in effingham to try the place. Located in a beautiful setting bout only 5 minutes from the highway. We had excellent appetizers.escargot was outstanding. We had 2 varieties of pizza and the steak sandwich. All excellent. Service was friendly and professional. If you are travelling route 70, make it a point to stop here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for the compliments on our food (especially the escargot)! We are pleased to hear that you received terrific service as well! We truly appreciate your feedback Paul & we hope you come back to see us again. Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's our habit to take back roads when driving long distances, so that we might find rare gems and enjoy the best of what America has to offer. As such, we've become jaded when it comes to highway interchange dining options, expecting homogenized chain offerings.
Imagine our delight to be able to enjoy a world-class dinner during our 'highway overnight'. Firefly offers farm-to-table that is possibly the most genuine we've experienced--literally pulling from the garden on property. The service was considerate, professional, and paced well. Their preparation of aforementioned fresh foods was creative and brought out the best in each offering. The drink offerings and advice on how to pair with the meal finished the experience nicely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We're so glad you found us too Chris & thanks for sharing your experience with us! We're delighted that you appreciated the " farm-to-table" concept we have strive so hard to incorporate here. Your comments will certainly be shared with our entire staff & we hope to see you again soon! Regards, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious. I wish I lived closer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I hadn't heard of this place before our visit and was very curious about what I was getting into while walking up to the big barn. Once inside the contemporary/modern decor pleasantly surprised me and I was relieved that it wasn't going to be a fancy Cracker Barrel. They emphasize local, fresh, in-season food, and they even have a garden where to harvest things for some dishes. The food was spectacular, we had pork and a burger, both meals were incredible. Not something I usually will say about a burger but this time its true! Meals were anywhere from $15 -$40 so it should fit just about any budget. Service was spectacular, timing was good, was never pushy, always smiling, and polite. The beer menu was full of excellent options from near and far, I was pretty surprised and disappointed to not see any Illinois nor midwest wines on the list though. Would I come back? Absolutely, again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyJxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for the generous review. It is always a pleasure hearing our guests mention the fresh ingredients we take from our garden & utilizing local produce into our dishes. We wish you lived closer to us, too! Thanks again, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed firefly grill also viewed

 

Been to firefly grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing