We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find along interstate 70”
Review of firefly grill

firefly grill
Reserve with OpenTable
firefly grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Keller Drive
Description: Firefly Grill is a modern roadhouse restaurant located on the shores of Kristie Lake. Chef Niall Campbell and his wife Kristie own and operate this oasis of American fresh cuisine in the heart of the Midwest. Firefly's menu changes daily and boasts fresh seafood, oak fired steaks and brick oven pizzas. Firefly uses local ingredients whenever possible and fresh herbs and vegetables straight from their very own garden! Gluten-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian & All Special Diets - because we make our food to order, many of our offerings can accommodate multiple dietary considerations. Please alert your server and they will guide you to a special choice while ensuring our Chefs take extra care with your dishes.
Columbia, IL
Level Contributor
308 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Amazing find along interstate 70”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a restaurant that would easily be successful in St. Louis or any other big city. My husband and I were in Effingham for a convention and had the pleasure of eating at this establishment. If dinner had not been included the next two nights we would have gone back. Our waitress Amanda was friendly, knowledgeable, happy, loved her job. I had shrimp as an appetizer and they were fresh and perfect, my husband had the very obviously home made french onion soup and it was the best french onion soup we have tasted. I opted for the 14oz rib eye and it was the best steak and well worth the price it comes with 2 sides and the steak was perfectly cooked and hardly any waste. My husband got the 10oz fillet and loved it as well, both steaks had smokey flavor and were cooked great. Nice wine list...........The place was delightful and when we come back from our New York trips we will stop there and eat rather than Indiana. They have a nice outdoor area and I imagine the spring will be lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susiejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at firefly grill! We'll make sure to pass your comments along to our staff, including Amanda. Can't wait to have you back! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    137
    77
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fancy Food in an Unexpected Place”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A restaurant like this one can hold its own in any big cities known for their gartronomical clout like Chicago. Instead, you find it in a small town that advertise itself as being on the intersection of two highways!
I ate at this restaurant four nights in a row while on a business trip. The seafood was expertly cooked, never dry and always infused with flavorful herbs that they say is freshly grown locally. The choices were very good, the apetizers well made and the wine selection very decent albeit the "by the glass" selection was limited to four kinds. I did not try the steaks as I thought they were too pricey.
I also tried one of the burgers on my last dinner which was also fancy and delicious. I must add that their beer selection is extensive and was pleasantly surprised they carried four kinds of IPA's, the only beer type I drink.
I do agree with one of the reviews that the dining room was a bit hot. They should take note of that.
Overall, this restaurant was a delight. Giving that the local competition is an endless row of chain restaurants and fast food joints, the choice is a no brainer. I highly recommend it even if you have to drive a long distance on these two highways to get there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Resortmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review and positive feedback on your visits with us! Receiving such wonderful praises such as yours makes us all very proud. The next time you're in Effingham, please come back and see us again! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Missed on the details”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently had a mid week business dinner there. Food was fine, but waitresss didn't know the wine list and asked in front of my customes if I wanted to upgrade to something more expensive. How embarrassing.Also the dining room must have been at least 80 degrees the whole time we were there. Lighting was a little too bright for evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USAtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is very important to us and appreciated. We’re so sorry to hear your visit with us was not as enjoyable as you had hoped. Please accept our apologies regarding the mistake made by your server. This issue and your other concerns will be discussed with our team and remedied. It is our hope that this instance does not deter you from dining with us again so we can prove to you this is not the norm here at the firefly grill. Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We never would have expected such an excellent restaurant in Effingham. Diverse and enticing menu ranging from sole muniere to wood-fired pizzas and seasonal specials that you might find in a big city, chef-driven place. And everything is executed wonderfully. The chicken that was part of a green dinner salad was moist and delicious, and the flavor of their house-made raspberry sorbet had the intensity of the fruit. Great service, and moderately priced, especially given the quality of what you get. Anytime we're traveling on I-70 or I-57, we'll plan to spend the night so we can eat at the Firefly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frazm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It's so great to hear that your dining experience at the firefly grill did not disappoint! We're just as happy to learn that the food & service we provided for you was excellent! Your comments are appreciated & we hope your next visit happens soon! incerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopping here for dinner after a long day of driving was a very special treat at the end of our vacation. We had the spinach salad, so fresh and tasty, the French onion soup, with deep flavor, and a pizza with flavorful sausage and mushrooms. The dining room was pleasant, service was friendly, and music was perfect. An absolute stop next time we pass through town and a recommendation to all.

Helpful?
Thank grapegirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your kind words & recommendation! We're very pleased to hear that we were able to give you one last "treat" before your vacation ended. Please come back and see us again whenever you're in the area. Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to firefly grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing