We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of firefly grill

firefly grill
Reserve with OpenTable
firefly grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Keller Drive
Description: Firefly Grill is a modern roadhouse restaurant located on the shores of Kristie Lake. Chef Niall Campbell and his wife Kristie own and operate this oasis of American fresh cuisine in the heart of the Midwest. Firefly's menu changes daily and boasts fresh seafood, oak fired steaks and brick oven pizzas. Firefly uses local ingredients whenever possible and fresh herbs and vegetables straight from their very own garden! Gluten-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian & All Special Diets - because we make our food to order, many of our offerings can accommodate multiple dietary considerations. Please alert your server and they will guide you to a special choice while ensuring our Chefs take extra care with your dishes.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found this on a road trip and it was great. Very good food and service, and not too far off the highway. (This food would hold up in a major city, and it's in a small town in the middle of IL.). It's worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us such wonderful feedback & we are grateful that you found us! Please come back & visit us again whenever you’re in the area. Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    135
    76
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Fairfield on a Friday. Due to a heavy luncheon meal, we did not want an all out dinner. The front desk seemed hesitant to recommend Firefly for something on the light side. We are glad we ignored that advice. My husband had a bowl of lobster bisque, made properly so that the broth does not overwhelm the delicate flavor of the seafood. I chose a spinach salad. Everyone these days does a green salad with fruit, nuts and cheese. This was exceptional ... toasted almonds slightly sweetened, tart apple, and goat cheese balls lightly breaded and deep fried, but so light and sweet, not greasy. Dressing was perfect ... just enough to dress the salad ... no swimming greens. We shared white chocolate bread pudding. Again, this is not a new concept, but made so special with pear compote and pumpkin ice cream. Everything is sourced fresh. That certainly shows. Yes, this is "expensive" but it is amazing value for gourmet food. We feel the main courses must be equally as interesting and plan to travel back from the Chicago burbs to visit again. Every success to you, Firefly staff!

Helpful?
Thank Linda1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your first dining experience with us! We appreciate your wonderful compliments about our food as well! It is our hope that you make the firefly grill a regular stop when you’re in the area! We’d love to have you back! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic and worth the drive”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Originally, we found this place back in 2010 through a magazine article a friend spotted. Sounded like something we'd enjoy so me, my wife, my parents, my sister and a friend of the family made the 1.5 hr trip northeast past the giant cross. We weren't dissapointed.

The dining area is pretty wide open with views into the kitchen. Make sure to check out the landscaping/garden on your way out/in. Once seated, I love reading on the menu from where my meal is sourced; it gives backing to the "in-season & local" theme. The ingredients in the menu items, particularly the specials, seem genuinely crafted to play off of one another. In other words, they aren't just throwing risotto as a side with this lobster just because they are both "eligant" dishes. Braised pork shank with brussel sprouts and whipped potatoes... while it doesn't sound necessarily extravegant, it doesn't have to be when it's extremely well executed.

Kudos for a well constructed menu and well paired dishes. We seem to be making the trip twice a year now. Originally it was used for anniversaries, graduations, engagements, etc. However, now if there isn't something to celebrate, we make up an excuse (i.e. - we haven't been in a few months) to go!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshB234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Josh – We appreciate you making the long drive to come see us & for your praises about our restaurant! We love getting responses from our customers, especially when we hear such wonderful compliments. Thanks again & come back so see us anytime! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch - can't go wrong if you go here”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not much to say but just "GO THERE"! This place has the best food and atmosphere for many miles around. Watch the meat cook on the spit while they mix custom drinks. Plan on taking your time, not because they are slow but because it's so good, savor. Expect to pay a little bit more for your meal but also expect a very good meal.

It's obviouis that the wait staff enjoy their jobs and that managment pays attention to every detail. I've been there a number of times and always am glad I stopped by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kman_62626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for the delightful compliments regarding our food & ambiance! We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the overall dining experience here at firefly grill! Please stop by & visit us anytime and we truly appreciate the recommendation! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Welcome change in rural IL!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Everytime I have been to Firefly, I have never been disappointed. At Firefly you have the chance to try dishes that are not normal fare at any other resturants. I how ever LOVE their steaks! A little on the pricey side, but worth the trip!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for wonderful compliments about our restaurant! We are also extremely pleased to hear that we have prepared consistently good dishes for you & that you appreciate our diverse menu. We want you to know that your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed firefly grill also viewed

 

Been to firefly grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing