We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue jeans or suit fine here”

Niemerg's Steak House
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
296 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Blue jeans or suit fine here”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Wide variety of menu items. Reasonably priced. Where locals go. Seeking soup on a cold December day and this recommended restaurant exceeded our hopes... We will stop again...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    149
    52
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Road Food Stop”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stopped here for lunch while on a long road trip. We ate in the coffee shop section and found the food to be good, the portions large and the prices reasonable. The place was packed and it was obvious that there were a lot of regulars there, which is always a good sign. I think ours was the only car in the parking lot that had out of state tags. I had the special of the day - grilled pork tenderloin sandwich. It was pretty good (I'd never had one before) and the bonus was that it came with a sundae. My husband had a hamburger that was considerably bigger than the bun it came on. He enjoyed it very much. The service was quick and friendly. We'd stop here again if we had the chance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good local family restaurant.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We always dine here at least once when visiting family in the area. The menu is homestyle family fare as well as casual diner favorites. Their breakfast is superb as is the fried chicken. One of my favorites is their hamburger horseshoe (a chopped steak type burger on toast covered in French fries and smothered in cheese sauce). And their pies are beyond description. Especially the coconut cream with super thick, melt in your mouth meringue or extra rich peanut butter pie. If you are watching your weight or cholesterol, they also have an excellent soup and salad bar. But my advice is to wear your fat pants, indulge in the delicious, unhealthy menu options and make excuses to your doctor later. Just a note...if you are an out-of-towner, don't be surprised if you get a few stares while there. Although Effingham is the crossroads for two major interstates with travelers and truckers constantly passing through, at heart it is still a small Illinois town which means if you aren't from there, you are a stranger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown, Illinois
2 reviews
“Good Food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great place to eat for whatever your in the mood for. There prices are cheap especially in the bar for lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice family place”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

A restaurant I stopped in with family and had the fried chicken and steaks. The chicken was very good as was the potato. Not a huge fan of the steak as it was underseasoned and overdone but it was ok. Staff was very nice but extremely busy as the place was packed. Excellent value for the portions and I love the salad bar and dressings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh050585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niemerg's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Niemerg's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing