We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Effingham
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wynne, ar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2006

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in April 2006. It was a surprise. It is beautifully furnished. The food was great. The young man at the desk was not too friendly when we checked in and not much help, but the hotel was lovely. We will definitely stay again.

Helpful?
4 Thank zelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    40
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
43
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2006

Wow, I can not stress enough how nice this hotel is. First class all the way. From the time you walk in the door you are treated like you have just walked in a four star hotel in any major city. Rooms are big. A suite with two rooms, fridge, pillow top bed, 2 TV's. The even have a restaurant in the lobby. I was a little worried at first thinking that it couldn't be that good but had an outstanding meal. They also offer a full bar. But if you want something else there is a Friday's and Applebee's in walking distance. Felt even better when I saw locals having dinner there at the hotel. For breakfast they offered me a free cont breakfast (Hilton Diamond Level) and I could pay $2 more for the cook to order meal. Worth it! Do note that a sign in the lobby offered all hotel guest can buy full breakfast for $5.

This is a great place if you are driving I-57 or I-70 in central Illinois. Also great for meetings or just a nice get-a-way. Aprox 2 hours from St. Louis, Indianapolis, & Paducah Ky and 3 hours from Chicago.

So if you are headed that way, you may want to stay here.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank pcarver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

I would agree with the last review that this is by far the best hotel to stay at while in the Effingham area. The hotel is in a complex with several other hotels very close by. If you're familiar with the area, the Hilton sits where the old Ramada Inn used to be. The Ramda Inn burned several years ago, however the old Thelma Keller convention center survived the fire and is now attached to the Hilton.

When you pull up out front of the Hilton, they have music piped in outside and throughout the hotel playing nice relaxing classical music. The lobby is not huge, but very welcoming, bright, nice tile, and very clean. I travel all over the USA and I honestly would not expect a hotel this nice in Effingham. Nothing against Effingham. It's a nice little city, but it' definitely small town USA.

The staff was great. The rooms were very nice and very clean. I'm the type of person who first takes off the comforter and tosses it in the corner and lays a towel on the bathroom floor right after arriving at a hotel, but not here. We stayed in a suite that had a small sitting area with hide-a-bed sofa, large chair, nice desk (with free internet access), and a large entertainment unit that housed the TV. There was also a small area that had a nice (large) "dorm" fridge, microwave, and plenty of cabinet space to store snacks if you're there for a couple days. The bedroom area had two queen beds, with pillow top mattress and down blankets with very nice comforters. There was also another identical entertainment unit. The bathroom was nice and clean (very important to me) and also had the nice curved shower rods to give you more room in the shower.

Room service is available until 9pm and there is also a small but very nice restaurant/eating area downstairs off the main lobby.

When back in Effingham IL, we will definitely stay here again. Without a doubt, the place to stay in Effingham.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank USA_Travel_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2005

I stayed here in November, and it appeared to have opened very recently. For 4 years, I lived in Memphis but worked for a company in Chicago, so I made the trip between the two more times than I can count. Usually, tyring to find any place to stay along the way is a bit of a crapshoot.

This please was excellent. I have nothing bad to say about it. Among the positives:

--Big room with comfy bed, seating, desk, nice decor and wireless internet
--Room floors were nice and quiet
--Nice bathrooms
--Nice building
--Lobby restaurant breakfast was good
--Staff was friendly
--Honored all my room requests
--Price was only about $10 more per night than local Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn

If you are travelling by car and need a place to crash for the night along the I-57 or I-70 corridors, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Migizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Effingham
Super 8 Effingham
#5 of 19 in Effingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Effingham

Property: Holiday Inn Effingham
Address: 1301 Avenue of Mid-America, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Effingham
#2 Business Hotel in Effingham
#4 Family Hotel in Effingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Effingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Effingham, our Holiday Inn is the only hotel with an on-site restaurant and bar. Fully renovated in July 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Effingham Hotel Effingham
Hilton Effingham
Effingham Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing