We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be #1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Effingham
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should be #1”
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I'm currently at the HGI and have been for a surprising 10 months solid, in the same room for an extended business contract. I see that the neighboring Country Inn & Suites is rated #1 on this site. The Hilton Garden Inn is clearly a better property. The Country Inn and Suites is certainly a nice property and if anyone is looking for an extended-stay suite with a kitchen, the CIS has large brick house in its parking lot converted to several residences. Convenient if you need a kitchen, but they are very dated.

Since essentially "living" in the HGI for this time in a suite with a wet-bar/ fridge/ microwave I have managed without a kitchen for this entire time.

There are several decent dining options and, of course, the Firefly Grill which is a gem in itself and could easily hold its own in any major city in the world. The Bar/ Restaurant at the Hilton is very nice as well and is generally "the" hangout for locals and business travelers, short of the Firefly.

I travel the world for business and pleasure and short of the cookie-cutter facade and basic exterior appearance of the HGI, the staff, the price, the service, the food are top notch. In fact, for a non-location-specific hotel I would rate the HGI in Effingham a much cleaner and pleasant hotel experience than I've had in much more expensive hotels in London, Madrid, New York.

I'm not trying to fool anyone, it's clearly Effingham, IL with very little draw. But, I generally stay at Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental properties and was and still am pleasantly surprised.

By the way, the same guy owns the HGI and the Country Inn & Suites, and the Holiday Inn (skip....)

  • Liked — Price for quality of property
  • Disliked — Where is Effingham?
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kmklint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    43
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
47
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Ridge, La
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

It's quite out of the way for a Hilton property.
But we definely got Hilton standards.
We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zxylia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Delightfully friendly staff. The room was nice. The layout was normal for a Hilton Garden Inn (fridge, microwave, restaurant in half the lobby), but it seemed more upscale. The breakfast is a great deal - you get a discount if you are staying there. It seems like the hot spot in town for locals to meet up at breakfast also.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trav0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I stayed one night at the Hilton Garden Inn Effingham while driving east for a Christmas visit. I exchanged Hilton reward points to cover the cost of the room. This Garden Inn is built in the typical Garden Inn style and layout, so there were no surprises. The in-house restaurant usually uses part of the lobby for a dining area. Because of the holidays, the entire lobby area was the dining area. Despite this, there was a clear path from the door to the desk and then to the room.

The hotel was also decorated for Christmas, which is not really important to me as far as the quality of my stay, but the decorations were very nice and well done. The attention given to the decorations reinforces the attention that the hotel gives to its service.

I found nothing wrong during my stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. The ice machine and soda/pop machine worked and were in a convenient location that was still out of the way to prevent any noise problems. The parking lot was well lit and clear of any snow. The wireless Internet in the room worked well and had a decent data rate.

The hotel itself is very near the interstate exit. There are many other hotels in the area and plenty of restaurants. There's a Walmart across the street, too.

Hilton Garden Inns are on the higher end of hotel comfort and service, and this property lives up to the quality expectations I had for a Garden Inn. I don't freely award a 5 rating, but this is one that deserves it. Given the appropriate circumstances, I would stay here again.(CS)

  • Liked — Everything was just right; no complaints
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelerChriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Effingham for 5 nights and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality we got for the value price of the room. The room was clean and comfortable with a mini refrigerator and microwave. The shower had the curved curtain rod which eliminated the possiblity of the curtain sticking to you. The staff was very friendly and we liked the free coffee/tea available 24hrs in the lobby along with the cookies put out in the evening. The exercise room was clean and functional with newer equipment and a TV. One treadmill, one elliptical, one bike and a universal machine. The indoor pool and jacuzzi looked clean and well-kept. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Surbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Stayed here during a move to Missouri. Would stay here again. Everything great, standard HGI.

Hot breakfast buffet ran $6-$7 and you can charge it to the room.

Located off I-70.

  • Liked — Standard HGI
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

This Hotel was emaculate. Christmas decorations were right out of a magazine. Lovely little dining room with a small bar. Rates were comparable to the area but so much nice. Beds were extremely nice. Pool area was very clean. Exercise area was adequate. Staff very nice and helpful. I must stay if you are in the area.

  • Liked — Beautiful decorations & Music
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carol-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 19 in Effingham
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Effingham

Property: Holiday Inn Effingham
Address: 1301 Avenue of Mid America, Effingham, IL 62401-4589 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Effingham
#2 Business Hotel in Effingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#4 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Effingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Effingham, our Holiday Inn is the only hotel with an on-site restaurant and bar. Fully renovated in July 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Effingham Hotel Effingham
Hilton Effingham
Effingham Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing