We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Effingham
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Effingham for 5 nights and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality we got for the value price of the room. The room was clean and comfortable with a mini refrigerator and microwave. The shower had the curved curtain rod which eliminated the possiblity of the curtain sticking to you. The staff was very friendly and we liked the free coffee/tea available 24hrs in the lobby along with the cookies put out in the evening. The exercise room was clean and functional with newer equipment and a TV. One treadmill, one elliptical, one bike and a universal machine. The indoor pool and jacuzzi looked clean and well-kept. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Surbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2007

Stayed here during a move to Missouri. Would stay here again. Everything great, standard HGI.

Hot breakfast buffet ran $6-$7 and you can charge it to the room.

Located off I-70.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BuckeyeHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

This Hotel was emaculate. Christmas decorations were right out of a magazine. Lovely little dining room with a small bar. Rates were comparable to the area but so much nice. Beds were extremely nice. Pool area was very clean. Exercise area was adequate. Staff very nice and helpful. I must stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carol-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

We stayed here the Tuesday before Thanksgiving and loved it. Our stay was free because we had accrued enough points. At no time was our stay compromised because we weren't paying. We ate dinner at the restaurant and breakfast the next day and were pleased. The lobby was decorated beautifully.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thebandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

We have stayed here several times in the last year. The customer service from the front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant staff is always friendly, quick, and courteous. Even with a wedding party and small convention there the last time we stayed, it was very quiet. It's conveniently right off the highway, but you're not disturbed by the highway noise. The rooms are very comfortable and always very clean, and it's great to have a small fridge and microwave in every room.

It's an easy walk to Cracker Barrel, TGI Friday's, Ruby Tuesday, and several fast food restaurants for meals, or to Wal-Mart if you've forgotten any supplies. We haven't tried the hotel restaurant for dinner, but the breakfasts are consistently good. Also a quick drive to the Firefly Grill, our new favorite Effingham restaurant. Front desk staff has been happy to give us directions to or suggestions for restaurants. Bowling alley is next door (adjacent to Friday's) if you're looking for something to do.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

We stayed on a Saturday night in the peak season of graduation travel, and found it a cut above other accommodations catering to Interstate highway travelers. Rooms and public spaces are furnished tastefully, with a touch of luxury. It has a conference center and a ballroom, which was hosting a major event, but we were not disturbed because the ballroom has a separate entrance and is well insulated from hotel rooms. They offer breakfast to hotel guests for $5.00, and it was well worth it (cooked to order, plus nice self-serve fruits and pastries). Glad we followed the recommendation offered by earlier Trip Adviser travelers.

3  Thank Lakeshore Luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in April 2006. It was a surprise. It is beautifully furnished. The food was great. The young man at the desk was not too friendly when we checked in and not much help, but the hotel was lovely. We will definitely stay again.

4  Thank zelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Effingham, IL
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Delta Inn
Best Western Delta Inn
#3 of 19 in Effingham
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Effingham

Address: 1301 Avenue of Mid America, Effingham, IL 62401-4589 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Effingham
#2 Business Hotel in Effingham
#4 Family Hotel in Effingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
Price Range: $111 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Effingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Effingham, our Holiday Inn is the only hotel with an on-site restaurant and bar. Fully renovated in July 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Effingham Hotel Effingham
Hilton Effingham
Effingham Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing