We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smack dab in the middle of our travel trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smack dab in the middle of our travel trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location near a wonderful restaurant (Firefly Grill), Starbucks, and the highway! The staff is welcoming and the facility is beautiful. We have stayed here on each of our trips from Kansas to Ohio.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We love hearing from guests who have stayed on multiple occasions. Thank you for letting us know that we are still up to your standards, and that we have kept you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    94
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
190
157
36
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Long driving trip Ohio to OKC just before Christmas, stopped for the night. Wanted a place that earned me Hilton Honors points and also had retired military discount. Check-in clerk was very nice and held a room for me. Very nice as well at check-in. Hotel is about a year old and in great shape, nicely appointed and decorated. Got my King nonsmoking for $88! European-style bedding (duvet - note said it was cleaned for our arrival) and very large room. Large bathroom, shower could fit two folks. Only complaint - the toilet roll dispenser - 2 pieces - mounted too far apart and when you use the dispenser the roll falls off the roller! Front desk notified. Nice thick towels. Breakfast room has nice high ceiling, beautifully decorated. Breakfast selection was excellent - omelettes were a nice touch. Excellent night's sleep, overall an extremely positive experience. Nice staff - even met most of the cleaning staff in their very large elevators - also a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and agreed with me it was a nice hotel. Doubt I will stay in this particular one again, but it will steer me towards other Hampton Inn and Suites.

Wish it had a restaurant and bar, but it's in the middle of a commercial strip and you could walk to stuff in nice weather - also a Starbucks right next to it. Walmart across street to get some beer and take back to room.

Room Tip: Get a King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We do have a great staff that makes sure our property is in great shape, and that our guests are our top priority. We hope that you stay with Hampton on every trip that you make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent!
You don't need more to describe this Hampton Inn & Suites.
Appearance of the lobby - great.
Staff - Friendly, helpful, nice, always with a smile.
Rooms - Perfect furnished, tasteful, quiet.
Location - Great for this area.
Breakfast - Hampton style but nicely presented.
A place I will definitely stay again, a Hotel I will recommend!!

Room Tip: Any Room is OK, you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We know that because Hampton is a brand with such high standards that it is hard to go wrong with one. So, to have you list us in your top 3, that is amazing. We definately hope to see you again on your next stop in Effingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Upon arriving, we knew it was going to be nice. Tidy parking lot, no glass on the ground, no trash cans overflowing, no dirty windows or carpets leading into the foyer. Very nice reception when we approached the front desk. Very prompt and courteous service. The lobby was clean and neat, and the elevator was spotless. The halls were clean, and free of trash and lint and spots on the carpets. When we entered our room...WOW!! We had the 2 Queen suite, and the room is huge! We loved it! We had a sofa bed and chair in addition to a HUGE, long desk to accommodate two laptops. (we used the footstool as a second chair! ;) The beds were comfy with nice duvets, no nasty bedspreads! The bathroom was small, but clean. This room had a microwave, fridge and sink. The room had central heat and air, controlled by a wall thermostat. Our room was very comfortable. There was very little road noise, and the room was pretty quiet for a hotel. We walked to the Denny's next door for dinner. That was a nice Denny's too, and we highly recommend it also. The hotel has a hot breakfast for guests. It was pretty good for a free hotel breakfast! The hotel is in an area catering to road travelers. Gas stations and food establishments abound. This is a very nice hotel, very clean, newer, and safe. We enjoyed our stay here, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaDisneyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Wow! Thank you for such a nice reveiw. We do our best to make your stay exceptional from the beginning...starting in the parking lot. We have a great staff that takes care of this property, and helps our guests whenever possible. Hopefully if you are in Effingham again you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is no ordinary Hampton Inn. It seems more like a Hilton with the decor and friendly staff. It was very tastefully decorated for Christmas in an elegant way. I liked that it did not take animals which made it quieter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It is nice to hear that you don't consider us to be in with the ordinary, and we are also happy to hear that you were able to visit us while we were decorated for Christmas. In regards to taking pets, many of our guests appreciate that we do not accept pets due to allergies or other personal reasons. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean. Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Continental breakfast. There are two Hampton Inns in Effingham. This one is the newer, Inn AND SUITES. Just so you know. :) This review must have 200 characters minimum ….. I hope this sentence qualifies it. ahem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank klainep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your short and sweet review. As of now we are the only Hampton in town, as the other property recently went our of the Hampton family. Thank you again, and I believe that qualified in your 200 characters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

After a long drive from Kansas we spent the night here. Very nice! Very clean room, plenty of space, bathroom was very clean, and had plenty of towels. Breakfast had some nice options to choose from. Plenty of local restaurants close by for dinner the night we arrived. Be sure to look for Hampton Inn and Suites as there is a Hampton Inn nearby at the same exit off interstate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakotalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review on our hotel. It is great to hear that you found the size of our accomodations to be to your liking, and that you were able to find a restaurant that could accomodate you with later hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Effingham
Holiday Inn Effingham
#6 of 19 in Effingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Effingham
Super 8 Effingham
#5 of 19 in Effingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
Address: 1305 N Keller Dr, Effingham, IL 62401-4529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites in Effingham. Our Effingham, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers.Families looking for lodging in Effingham, Illinois will be pleased at our hotel, located just off I-57 & I-70. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, restaurants,shopping, golfing and Lake Sara. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Effingham, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including Quad Graphics, Mid America Motorworks, Sherwin Williams, Irwin Telescopic Seating, Heartland Dental, Patterson Dental & many more.. In addition, we provide a business center with a printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch.While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing