We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 North Raney Street, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Try our Business Package
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
171 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fine for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is fine for an overnight stay and close to shopping and restaurants. Property was clean but rooms and building needed some minor updates. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Front desk will negotiate on room rates as they came down when we debated whether to check out other places as there are plenty of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    63
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
91
64
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family was traveling across country and needed a place to stay that was right off the highway so we could get back on the road bright and early the next morning. I've never stayed at a Country Inn but the price was so much better than at The Hampton Inn right next door and we got a room with two queen-sized beds as opposed to two doubles anywhere else. We have three kids and appreciated the bigger beds so everyone was more comfortable! The hotel offers a free hot breakfast, but not until 7 am on the weekends. We wanted to be on the road at 6:30 am the next day so we could not take advantage of it. I would definitely stay at a Country Inn again. The room was clean, large and the check-in staff was efficient and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was friendly but the person at the front desk said he was alone and seemed to be overwhelmed by the amount of business. This seemed strange since it was a Saturday night in June - prime vacation travel season. Room was OK - looked clean but smelled kind of musty. Pool was nice but was way to crowded because of it being a Saturday night. Breakfast was good. We might give this property another shot if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clpage5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spottsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My parent were traveling on I-57 when they was in a terrible car accident we live 2.5 hours away my husband found this hotel when we was still at the ER and he booked 2 rooms and told then wasnt sure what time we would show up they said it was fine.I dont remember much but what i do remember it was very clean beds were very comfortable I think they offer breakfast we stayed 2 nights it was easy to find everyone was very nice.I believe we was close to walmart and food places. Thank you so much country inn for taking care of us during this terrible time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room was very comfortable and clean and quiet off the highway, The breakfast was also good and not limited to high carb bread items.The front desk people were very nice. They were almost sold out so I suggest to reserve a room if in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjorthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have never stayed at a Country Inn - usually more than what I want to spend for a night on the road. Booking through priceline however was well worth it. Rooms are expensively decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was huge, included bacon and many other options. In a room facing the interstate but could barely hear the highway. Room darkening curains worked very well, I was surprised when I opened them and it was already light. Very nice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbaaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when visiting Effingham for a show at the Effingham Performance Center. The location was great. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was good. There was a nice variety of food to choose from. The breakfast room was a little small but that was our only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Effingham
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Effingham
Holiday Inn Effingham
#5 of 21 in Effingham
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 21 in Effingham
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Address: 1200 North Raney Street, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Effingham
#3 Business Hotel in Effingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town house and condominium style rooms with full kitchenette, washer/dryer. All king beds with pull out sofa-sleeper. A/C and free local/long-distance calling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham Hotel Effingham
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Country Inn Effingham
Effingham Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing