We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, but hotel needs upgrading”
Review of Days Inn Effingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Effingham
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Room was clean with plenty of towels, good shower pressure, sink outside of the shower which we like a lot, good lighting and comfortable bed, excellent wireless connection.
There is a LOT of construction going on in the area. This may explain the run-down appearance of the hotel as a whole. It was fully booked, as I'm sure it is every day with all the construction workers.
Once all the highway construction is finished it is definitely time for an extensive remodel to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolEllard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 519 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

My kids and I were very disappointed. The only thing we liked about our stay was the set up of the room. Service and outside the room were the problem. The pool, which my boys insisted on, was at the hotel across the parking lot (the two hotels shared a pool). The pool itself was freezing and had cracked/broken concrete. The hot tub, another reason for booking there, was set at 75 degrees and could not be raised. It took the attendant 15 minutes to get towels for us and to check on the hot tub. This hotel was also in need of immediate attention. I've never been this disappointed in a hotel/motel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

I will never stay there again. Smelly, hole in wall in room, small rack hanging on wall of room and called it a closing. Carpeting dirty, dust on furniture, carpet not vaccued to edges and corners, pop machine not working, breakfast not good... All fruit in basket old and rotting, coffee so bad couldn't drink it. Don't go there. Had to pay $79 with a Vet discount for that!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willisba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

They are much nicer places to stay in Effingham -- and some are cheaper. We tried to cancel our reservation after getting to the hotel but the desk clerk gave us such a hard time -- it was 3 pm on the Sat. of Memorial Day weekend -- she said on holidays they require a 24-hour cancellation -- that we ended up staying there. They advertise a pool -- but they share it with the Rodeway Inn -- and after walking over to see it, we decided not to allow the kids to get in it -- was afraid they'd catch "something" in it. Check out the Quality Inn if you need a decent place to stay that's lower in cost -- rooms there were $79 vs. $89 a night at the Days Inn -- and the hotel and pool appeared to be much better maintained. We've stayed in very nice Days Inns previously - this one has not been maintained & is overpriced in comparison.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynL3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Everthing was fine. High spedd internet. Comfortable bed. Nice and net clean. What else need with family. Good break fast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a hotel I will never stay at again. It is absolutely disgusting, the smell (I can not even explain how awful it is), the carpets in the hallways and especially the rooms are so filthy they could get up walk away. I would not let my kids take their shoes off. The blankets on the bed, nasry, nope don't use those either. The pictures they have posted on their web site were more than likely when they opened on the 1st day. The rooms are nothing like what is shown, just as they advertise a pool. No, they do not, they "share" with the neighboring hotel (motel as far as I'm concerned) the pools paint is chipped badly, the so called "hot" tub was filled only 1/2 way and was cold and the pool its self was freezing. Complete joke. Toliet broke after the first flush, outlets didn't work, no clock to set an alarm, bathroom disgusting. Elevator did not work either for those who stayed in the main building. This whole expierience disgusted me that I would not even allow my family to eat the "free" breakfast...no thanks! This hotel just needs to be torn down, I don't know how they can "pass" on anything. The so called "help" for front desk, not helpful at all, they are also rude! As you see I really want to give this "rating" a zero" but it will not allow me to complete the form without doing so.

Room Tip: Yeah don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

My heart sank when Priceline sold us this hotel. However, unlike reviews, our room was newly renovated and very nice. Included breakfast was in a separate room with waffles etc. Staff were also very friendly. Not so pretty on outside of hotel, but who cares. Clean bed/bath, no bugs, free breakfast & wifi are my needs. On my list for next road trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOwlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Effingham
Super 8 Effingham
#6 of 19 in Effingham
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Effingham
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Effingham
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Effingham, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Effingham

Address: 1209 N Keller Dr, I-57/70 Exit 160, Effingham, IL 62401-4530 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Price Range: $56 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Effingham 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Effingham Hotel Effingham
Effingham Days Inn
Effingham Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing