We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico for Americans”
Review of Taqueria Don Pedro

Taqueria Don Pedro
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mexico for Americans”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place is pretty much like every other Mexican place run by a Mexican family. The food is decent and made so that everyone will like it. You can't go wrong but you also can't remember what you had last time unless you always order the same thing. The choices are limited in the area so this is as good as it gets! With that said, the servers are friendly, they remember you, and the food comes out pretty fast!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KingOfRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always craving this food!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the most delicious Mexican food I have ever ate! I try to get something different each time I go, and it is always spectacular! My go to favorite is their traditional chicken tacos, and I try not to stuff myself on the delicious chips and salsa and cheese dip first! Everything is homemade and FRESH, including their awesome hot sauces! The service is fast and friendly every time, and the atmosphere is always inviting! I HAVE to eat here every time I go through Effingham, and I find myself often wanting to make a trip there just to get this amazing food!!! Don't even hesitate, go get you some Taqueria Don Pedro NOW!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodJunkie0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC! !”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We went here on Valentine's Day...food was WONDERFUL (chimichanga was my fav) homemade fresh baked chips and salsa...the NICEST waitress ever! Tipped her $20! Go Go go!

Helpful?
2 Thank llcooljunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lunch on the road”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Don't fret aesthetics... This place is authentic! Friendly staff. Fast. Delicious. Tamales in banana leaves. Tacos on homemade tortillas. Mexican pastries. Yum!

Helpful?
1 Thank HjstepTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Effingham you are blessed.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Coming from AZ we did not expect authentic Mexican food this far from the boarder. The food is amazing and service with a smile. Pleasant music and great homemade guacamole. AWESOME!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Don Pedro also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing