We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had my husband's birthday celebration lunch at the Roslin with our family and decided to stay overnight as we live in West Sussex. The lunch was excellent, staff friendly and helpful with a table overlooking the Estuary on a bright day and watched the sunset. The room was great with a huge bed nice furnishings and linen. Our room had a balcony overlooking the Estuary and it would be great in the Summer to sit and have breakfast up there. The Christmas decorations gave it a very warm and cosy atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an Executive Room so cannot comment on others but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Many thanks for leaving such a positive review . On behalf of the whole team at The Roslin I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your husband had a great 40th birthday dining with us . I do hope that you can return and stay with us when the weather is a little better and you can enjoy a breakfast served on the balcony overlooking the sea.
I look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    311
    84
    29
    33
See reviews for
310
555
91
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My friend and I took advantage of the spa package which included overnight stay, breakfast, light lunch and evening meal plus a 30 min treatment. We upgraded our room at a very reasonable cost and stayed for two nights. We added some treatments and really made a special weekend of it. Megan who is in charge of the spa was so approachable and extremely helpful in tailoring the treatments to meet our needs. The room was excellent, The restaurant was first rate, food great. Best of all the owner of the restaurant and all of the staff were friendly, approachable and very caring. The hotel was extremely busy but we were made to feel special at all times and was given time and professional attention that we expected. the treatments were very good too. What a great weekend. Thankyou Ann and Lin

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and vary in cost and size. We chose an executive room. The room had its ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Ann and Lin,
Sincere thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your Spa weekend. I am very glad that you both had a wonderful time. Meghan along with all my staff is very committed to guest satisfaction and always wants to ensure a consistent luxury experience for everyone who stays with us . I am happy to say that next year we will be expanding our spa adding in a sauna, steam room and hydrotherapy pool.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the near future
Kind regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We Booked the Roslin for our Civil Parnership on th 28 November with just 6 weeks notice ,Not that it was a shot gun wedding its just that i waited 30 years and could,nt wait another day.Having met The Wedding Planner Amy and The M.D Jacqui we were re- assured and left it all down to them .we also had the mulberry suite to get ready in and that done away with having to book a Benltey continential so a ,£900.00 saving .The whole day was perfect and very professional and not to mention Value for money . It was seamless through the transitions from the ceromony to the welcome drinks ,and to the sit down and to the evening buffet &Dicso It was amazing experience like the first time i went to Disneyland (magical),The Food was excellent and the friendly staff very professional making it the perfect day at a perfect venue, we felt like celeberities. we are even getting thankyou cards from the wedding guest saying how amazing it was and the best wedding they had been too even better than their own son/daughters one (Should have gone to the Roslin )Truley a wonderful experience ..... thank-you so much xxxx

Room Tip: Book a suite looking over the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Kevin and Terry,
Thank you so much for leaving such an extensive review . I am so delighted that we helped to make your day perfect, it is not hard when dealing with such lovely people. Amy and the rest of my team are so proud and passionate about the hotel and always want to ensure that our guests have the best service and food possible.
On behalf of the whole team at The Roslin Beach Hotel, congratulations and we wish you a long and happy life together
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We occupied three rooms for two weeks. Rooms were comfortable and clean.The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The restuarant was truly first class.The staff are all so friendly and willing to help and assist. We felt nothing was too much trouble for them. Not a cheap place to stay but highly recommended. We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Well done, keep it up. If you want a good quality hotel with friendly, eager to please staff give the Roslin Beach a try..you wont be disapointed.

Room Tip: Take a room with a sea view. However expect to here traffic noise, The road is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving such a glowing review on the hotel. We are a team of passionate individuals , committed to guest satisfaction and well-being. I am delighted that your overall expectations were exceeded and that you were very happy with the level of service, food and beverage offerings and accommodation .
I am very happy that have been able to move back to your house but hope that you will continue to visit us
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I run a Lunch Club and today 30 of us had afternoon tea at this hotel. It was a great experience that we all enjoyed. The tea itself was delicious and plentiful, the tables laden with warm quiches, sandwiches, scones with cream and jam, cakes and mince pies. So much indeed, that we couldn't eat it all. The staff were helpful and cheery and the price, at £14.95, very good value and came, today, with a glorious view of the sun setting, all thrown in for nothing.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and leaving such a positive review. I am so glad that you brought your party to the Roslin for our wonderful Afternoon Tea and that we exceeded your expectations. We also serve fantastic lunches and dinners and I would be happy to arrange a menu for your group if you wish to visit us again.
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and what a wonderful experience it was.The room was stunning , the breakfast was exceptional and that is coming from my family and a husband who is extremely fussy about good food . The warmth and Xmas decorations making the atmosphere extremely inviting infact we all said how we would have loved too spend Xmas there it was wonderful . Would definitely stay there again it was a lovely experience and also spotlessly clean which was a must when away from home .

Room Tip: Our room was a corner suite it was quiet and very bright .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jh123Southend, General Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review , I am so glad that you all had a great time celebrating a 40th Birthday. We are very proud of our fantastic Christmas decorations and believe they are probably the best in Essex. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
743 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing