We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our second time to stay at the Roslin for the Southend Half Marathon. The receptionist remembered us from last time :) The staff are typically friendly and helpful and allowed us to delay our checkout on Sunday so we could use the room after the half-marathon to shower. We ate dinner on Saturday evening and had Sunday lunch at the hotel restaurant and the food was great. (The squid starter at Sunday lunch was superb!) It's not a cheap hotel, but I think it definitely deserves its four star rating.

Looking forward to staying there again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "Beach House" are a little more expensive but are much roomier, quiet and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    295
    82
    29
    29
See reviews for
298
522
87
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at The Roslin as a family for my sisters funeral. It was a very stressful time but the staff made everything so easy for us from extending breakfast by 45 minutes so other family could join us to keeping the bar open late as we were in need or refreshments when we returned. They were so caring and considerate on the day and couldn't so enough for us. We stayed as a family in 2 separate goos sized rooms. They had great facilities for babies. The rooms were well appointed, modern and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel itself has a lovely view whilst eating breakfast and a gorgeous bar area. We didn't take an evening meal there but the menu looked delicious. A great selection of wines too!

Room Tip: It's worth booking a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business. The company I work for uses this hotel a lot as it is the best place to stay in Southend. The staff are always polite and helpful. Breakfast is great and there's loads to choose from. I'm disappointed when I can't get a room and have to stay elsewhere. For business you can't go wrong. A home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morristheblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Totally overwhelmed by the excellent service, rooms and hospitality extended to us in our Golden Wedding Celebrations. Amy, Carla and staff exceeded our expectations and went the extra mile for us. We had a fantastic day and evening! Thank you is not enough, they simply were the best!! We definitely would recommend this venue for any celebrations. Thanks once again for everything. Golden memories we will treasure forever. Jim & Margaret .... The Whitmore Arms, Orsett, Essex.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitmoreArms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the weekend, and after a 10 minute hunt for a parking space we were given a very friendly welcome at the front desk, offered a paper and a wake-up call then shown to our room.
The room was immaculately clean, although a little smaller than expected with a brilliant sea view.
The bed was very big and comfortable, but on closer inspection it was actually two single beds pushed together which was a bit disappointing.
The buffet breakfast was good but not outstanding, you had to ask for fried eggs and we weren't shown to our seats and given toast.
The hotel was more expensive than the other places along the sea front, but it was definitely worth the extra for how clean and nicely decorated it was. The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional.

Overall a very pleasant stay, would definitely be 5 out of 5 if it had a king size bed and a slightly bigger room.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wonderful Staff, helpful and very pleasant. Bedding, Towels, Room Fixture and Fittings of the highest standard. The best value one night stay we have ever had in a Hotel everything offered was worth double the money! Well done the Roslin......Southend's Gem. Thanks to all the staff and best wishes for the future. The Holmes's

Room Tip: Room 301 . Private terrace with furniture, sun all afternoon and not on the main road passing the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had to change our venue last minute so contacted the Roslin. Amy the events manager was fantastic. Pulled out all the stops for us. All the staff were very polite, exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The food was first class and our room and a guest room for a family member was lovely. Very clean. Amazing comfy bed. Breakfast was once again first class. The service first class. Would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a place to stay where everything is top notch. Even have a gym to work your breakfast off. None of us wanted to leave. Best hotel we've stayed in for a long while.

Room Tip: All rooms with sea view are lovely but if your not use to traffic you might be put off if you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing