We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”
Review of Ming's Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Ming's Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Morton, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We hadn't been here for nearly a year. And after our last experience, we likely won't be back. All the food seemed to have been sitting for a very long time. My friend and I barely picked at the food, trying to find something that didn't taste old.

The best part was the ice cream, but not the stuff from the machine. At the other end of the buffet (?), there's a cooler with cups of ice cream that were great. But I came for food, not ice cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I used to really like this place. You could fill up on Sushi at a reasonable price. My most recent visit left me wanting the old days when it was new. Food had been sitting too long and didn't seem fresh.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chinese Buffet”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Without a doubt, the largest selection of buffet offerings I've ever seen, kept fresh, huge variety from salads, main dishes and a huge offering of desserts, very reasonably priced I should add.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwaubenon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Costs just a little more than takeout but great variety”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went on a busy Saturday night and were seated within five minutes. The hostess and waitress were efficient and friendly. The selection of foods was not limited to Chinese and there was a large area dedicated to fruits and salads. For those that enjoy sushi there was a large area for you. Traditional favorites like sweet and sour chicken will make it easy to feed your young children. They also liked the ice cream bar! The cost was slightly more than you would pay for any takeout fast food but well worth the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection but quite expensive.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in the area. They have a truly remarkable selection of different foods. Their main fare is Chinese food but they have a wide selection of old favorites such as mac and cheese, pizza, and fresh fruit. Being a buffet, the selection of what they have available at any given time does, of course, vary. They do always seem to have a great selection of seafood. From crab legs to sometimes even crawfish there is a wide variety and it is quite delicious. This is a great place to bring children provided you can afford the prices. It is one of the more expensive options in the area but in my opinion well worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing