We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice little place”
Review of Basta at East Port

Basta at East Port
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in East Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice little place”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place offers great food in a cozy atmosphere. Closed Sundays though. It does have a nice wine list.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trampsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    1
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Share an entree”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tasty, plentiful food: enough for two (seriously) or one with a huge appetite. A downtown location and one in a strip mall.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craftylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I don't understand the positive reviews”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

To put it simply the service was very poor, the portions were huge but that doesn't make the food good and it wasn't. My Chicken Marsala was just a few degrees from being cold and lacked the flavor it should have had. My companion had Shrimp Pesto, a mountain of pasta hiding very few shrimp. Our server never seemed to be on top of the needs of our table, it was a party of ten. Ask for a second glass of wine, don't expect to get it without asking again, one basket of bread for the whole table. All in all not a place we will visit again .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EP-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My favorite is the Pasta Compramare. I ask for it "not too spicy" and it's to die for. Their service is always pleasant and the quiet atmosphere is exactly what we need. Love it here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kuuipo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Basta Eastport is one of our favorite places to eat. They have wonderful food and the atmosphere is great too. They have a good variety on their menu (even though I tell myself I'm going to branch out and get something different, I always end up ordering the tortellini carbonara) and one gets a large amount for the price. We love their food so much we had them cater our wedding!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AMCY0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basta at East Port also viewed

 

Been to Basta at East Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing