We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day”
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great day”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our Ruby wedding with with an overnight stay the night before and a lunch on the day. My wife was expecting our children and grandchildren but other friends had been invited as a surprise. The staff fully co-operated with this. The staff could not have done more to make the day a success and their attentiveness to our needs was excellent. Co-operation with the timings we wanted to allow people to arrive and depart was changed a little on the day, but the staff took it in their stride. The lunch was of a very high quality and enjoyed by all. We are so thankfull that we chose Hatherley Manor for our special occassion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
hi JMW7

thanks for your great review
so glad that you enjoyed it so much and that we looked after you so well

kind regards
Stephen Trowbridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    277
    122
    52
    33
See reviews for
114
406
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had a four night break here. Superior room was spacious and comfortable but shabby in places and not very thoroughly cleaned - bathroom spotless. Food very good but main courses fairly substantial and limited menu which didn't change during our stay - however, we discovered we could choose from the bar menu to eat in the restaurant, which gave us some lighter choices. Best thing was the staff - everyone was welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient - and we would certainly recommend/go back because of this. Lots of functions when we were there but a separate entrance and good sound insulation meant that it was not a problem. Very good location - on a quite lane but very close to the Gloucester/Tewkesbury road. Easy bus connections into Gloucester which hotel should promote.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scillyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
hi Scillyfan


So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all the staff to be a pleasure, we will work on the little things you have mentioned in order to get five stars next time.
In relation the restaurant please talk to our restaurant team if you are looking for something different to what is on the menu, everything is freshly cooked and we can pretty much adapt to any request .
You have stated that you are thinking of returning so it is worthwhile me pointing out to you that we have an excellent loyalty scheme with great benefits we can add the points you will have earned from this stay if you booked direct.
we wish you well and hope to see you again soon.

kind regards
Stephen Trowbridge
General Manager
Hatherley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed in this hotel on a return trip from Cornwall. We stayed in a Standard room. The room itself was clean and evidently recently decorated as it was nice and fresh but the room itself was very small and had a horrible view of a run down looking building. We were located on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and there was a wedding that night with extremely loud music until 1.30 a.m. Even with ear plugs in and the window shut we could still hear the music. We therefore didn't have a fantastic nights sleep. I think that if bedrooms are located next to the area wedding parties are held in, there should be some kind of hotel policy that the music finishes at a more reasonable time, say 12.30 a.m or that it's turned down as this has put me off returning to the hotel or recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIntrepidExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
hi the intrepid explorers

Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise disturbance that spoilt your stay with us
we do normally have a policy of 1am finishes for our functions. this particular night there was aband playing who despite our requests failed to adopt to our noise level instructions.

i will contact you directly by email as "Just ok" is not where we want to be as a hotel

yours sincerely
Stephen Trowbridge
ps I hope you had a great time in Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This place has a captive market for weddings and, it has become lazy. For the price of a double - one hundred pounds per night (which was a special offer), they advertise 'heating' as a facility!!!!! The beds are terrible, the majority of our party did sleep well, the bathroom was not clean; there was no water in one of the bedrooms, the rooms ware terribly noisy and the waiting staff was rude. Never Ever Again. Rip off!! - Go to the travel lodge or the Ramada, where some of our party stayed and loved it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tellithowitis186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
I am sincerely sorry that you did not believe your stay offered value for money and i am assuming that you stayed for a function that was succesful and enjoyable as you have not mentioned that it was not.
As we have not recieved any correspondence from you or any verbal displeasure during your stay it is very difficult for me to make any comment on the things you say were poor. In relation to the rate you paid to stay which may have been £100 this price is for two people for bed and breakfast for a Saturday night I do not believe that this is a rip off in any way the price is comparable with any full service hotel in the area and our bedroom stock is of a higher quality than both properties you have mentioned; we also have higher customer service ratings on all independant customer feedback websites than both these properties.

This said we are still sorry you did not enjoy your time with us and should you wish to contact me to discuss this further or give me more details so that i can fully investigate the issues you had my email address is Stephen.trowbridge@hatherleymanor.com
kind regards

Stephen Trowbridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Having read the other reviews on this site I felt sure we had picked a great hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, how wrong we were!. Things started well as I emailed the hotel proir to our arrival requesting some information about where to visit and i received a prompt reply with some information.

Check in was fine, our room was fine (nothing amazing) but clean. We went to dinner in the restaurant on the first night and it all went wrong from there. I t felt like the staff had never worked in a restaurant before! we were seated at a table so close to the ones around us you could not have a conversation without everyone hearing. We waited 10 minutes for cuterly once our starter arrived so it had gone luke warm by the time we started! We ordered wine as soon as we sat down but this did not materilse until half way through our main course-we were then advised it was not cold and there was no ice bucket available-eventually one was located but by this time we were ordering dessert! Most of the staff were very reluctant to help -with one, Emily, behaving like a sulky teenager. She could not raise a smile or any polite small talk. When we mentioned her attitude to the reception staff we were informed that she was always like that! The 2 girls on reception were really friendly and helpful and certainly the best of all the staff.
The restuarant was a real let down-there was certainly no evidence of award winning food-perhaps the weddings that were on at the same time got prefertential treatment?
Having read through the welcome information it stated that bottles of water were provided in each room-when i mentioned that we didnt have any i was advised that there policy had changed and they were no longer provided!
I feel i could go on and on about the hotel short comings but there isnt enough space to list it.
Overall a HUGE disappointment for what should have been a fantastic break. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliesmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
dear Millies Mummy

please accept my sincere apologies, clearly the service levels you encountered did not represent our normal quality for which we are renowned.

as a term we constantly analyse our performance and will use your feedback to improve

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The staff, from the first to the last could not have been more accommodating. The room was absolutely superb. There was a wedding on during our one night stay but the venue was so far away from our bedroom that we experienced no noise whatsoever. The food was lovely - my husband had one of the best rump steaks he had ever eaten, and believe me, he has eaten many! I was there to celebrate my birthday and would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel.
Mr and Mrs Jordan.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DendyWeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We visited the hotel yesterday for our 20th wedding anniversary. (We had had our wedding reception @ the hotel all those years ago!) The service that we received was fantastic and in fact, we felt, went beyond the call of duty. Upon our arrival we were greeted by an extremely friendly, attentive & professional young man called Dan who promptly served us a selection of canapes whilst we perused the menu, they were truly delicious. The Exec.Chef also came out to greet us - which was a really nice touch. Whilst in the restaurant we were given a glass of Champagne each so we were thoroughly spoilt. The food was superb and it really made our anniversary very special. How lovely that the Hatherley Manor has yet again, after so many years, provided us with another memorable & pleasurable evening. My husband had told them, when he booked it that it was our anniversary & they certainly went that extra mile to make it so special.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit101n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
kit101n

Thank you for your most kind appraisal of our hotel

what I really love about this review is the fact that my team went totally out of their way to make sure you had a great night without us discussing its at our team meetings, it was just a pure collaberation between Daniel our trainee manager and our Kitchen team and our reception who took the initial booking

it makes me so proud to know that my team care so much about giving great service
when its your 25th give us a call and we will do something extra special!!!

Stephen Trowbridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Property: Hatherley Manor
Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms, HRS, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing