We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night away”
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely night away”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked this through a groupon voucher.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We ungraded our room and had the four posted bed. The room was very spacious and in character. The only negative I will say is, the room was noisy at night with a loud fan like noise, but apart from that it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    285
    124
    54
    35
See reviews for
123
417
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

More like a country hotel as the manor is a very small part of the overall building which is modern read brick. We had an executive room which was very small. The staff were very welcoming and friendly despite the fact that they had two weddings on at the venue that day. We took our dog which was no trouble for them. The service at the bar was slow due to lack of trained staff but that is a minor gripe. We had dinner and my steak was excellent. The wine list is a little limited.
If you can secure a good deal for DB&B (perhaps through Groupon, etc), then I would recommend it but I would not want to pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superscaryshadowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed overnight and found this a beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Lovely grounds and in a quiet location. Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable and whilst we didn't try the restaurant it looked lovely. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

A second visit for a family lunch. And as before a warm, friendly welcome, good service, tasty food and a reasonable price. It a lovely setting and has suited us very well as a place to get together and have relaxed meal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The staff at Hatherly Manor is what made this visit excellent for our team. They were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The location is fabulous and picturesque, so it’s a very peaceful location which easy to find and not far off the Motorway.

We used the venue for a teambuilding event, the conference facilities were excellent and our social aspect of an Easter treasure hunt to finish off the day was accommodated with lots of smiles from staff. The private dining room in the evening ensured we were able to talk business and then enjoy the social aspect without disturbing the other guests.

The rooms were clean, spacious, nicely decorated and had the added bonus of traditional keys. The bar was well stocked and the food was locally sourced and flavoursome. Breakfasts were cooked fresh to order, which is always a bit nicer than self-service.

No complaints here!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house have nicer views, but in suck a lovely location it's quiet wherev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upavon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

the staff here made our birthday two day break very special nothing was too much trouble even our dog got birthday biscuits! The food was delicious served in a beautiful dining room and the bar reception area was very relaxing. A BIG THANK YOU to the very good team at Hatherley Manor who make this hotel a very special place to stay

Room Tip: if you can afford it upgrade to a larger room as the basic twin rooms are alittle on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpavonPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our short stay last weekend. Staff were very pleasant and helpful; dinner on Saturday night was delicious. Bedroom, though small, had all the necessities for our comfort and together with bathroom was exceptionally clean. Were given a box of chocolates and cream tea as part of the deal which was very much appreciated. Looking forward to a return visit. Also for dogs, the grounds are superb and very spacious.

Room Tip: Ground floor was fairly small, did not see any of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
812 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,299 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,599 reviews
11.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Property: Hatherley Manor
Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing