We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice stay”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cold Aston B&B and Inns
Leicester, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A really nice stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A newly renovated pub with three rooms and young, really enthusiastic "hands on" owners. The welcome is friendly, the rooms are clean and both dinner and breakfast were good. Breakfast is served at pretty much any time you want which is a real blessing for those who don't want to rise before the sun does! Rooms facing the front have minimal traffic noise and we would certainly return. The only reason that we give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the very real competition in this area of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    5
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

An old pub renovated into a contemporary style with wooden floors and tables, light and cheerful. Some may say it is a shame to renovate Britain's old pubs beyond recognition and so losing their essential character but this has been tastefully done and so I can forgive them. We arrived early evening and as there were only a few people in, it felt a little lacking in any sort of atmosphere (fairly usual with wooden floors) but this did improve a little as time went on.
The staff were all cheerful, very friendly and helpful and there were a few locals there who obviously went in regularly which is always a good sign. The food is freshly cooked so there is no point going in for an 'instant' meal and complaining if you don't get it! We probably waited about 40-50 minutes but my partner thoroughly enjoyed his steak and Guinness pie when it arrived, as did I, my spatchcock chicken. Servings were both generous, well-presented and reasonably priced ... and we were kept informed of the meal's progress to arrival. One of the girl's has a lovely, well-mannered and friendly cocker spaniel who 'waits' at tables, not intrusive, but patient, and we were often asked if we minded him there - we did not, but some may do. We were camping so did not stay but would certainly return to eat there if/when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxaway46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visited this newly renovated village pub when on holiday in August. We were early for lunch so sat outside with a drink and watched local food companies arriving with deliveries - a good omen for the quality of the food and we were not disappointed, the food was imaginative and delicious. A bonus for us was that the service wasn't just welcoming and friendly for us but also our dog, who got his own ramekin filled with biscuits when we arrived! Can't comment on the rooms as we were camping, but this is certainly one place we will revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A really smart renovation of this local village pub. Six of us ate delicious food. The menu had lots of pub favourites to choose from including venison pie, burgers,fish and chips, rump steak and more. The puddings were even more delicious. I tasted the lemon posset, wonderfully tangy, and crumble which was also really good. The staff were friendly and fun and created a lovely atmosphere from the moment we arrived. There were lots of locals which is always a goood sign.
The loos are clean and nice and the soap smelt really good.
Only one down point, we had to walk between smokers in the porch on the way in and on the way out so a good smokers shelter would be a good addition for when it is raining.
I would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dodders007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Cold Aston GL54 3BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cold Aston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Aston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing