We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent - homely and all round comfort to the extreme” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fieldways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fieldways
Ranked #1 of 2 Cold Aston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent - homely and all round comfort to the extreme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

take your time and dont hurry its more than home from home

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

a fantastic find - we had an extremely enjoyable stay due to the charismatic host and affectionate pets. The rooms were very homely and we were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we stepped into the home. i highly recommend this as a getaway from the city - beautiful english countryside. Overall an unforgettable experience and i will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEllesBelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is beautiful house, in a beautiful setting. Alan is a most welcoming host and you feel he wants you to feel really at home in his house.

If you prefer the more "impersonal" B&B that shows you your room and you never see them again until you leave then this place is definetely not for you !!! His house and garden are beautiful - as are the two cats and Holly the dog. The breakfast was wonderful and we were extremely full and needed the walks in the Country Parks afterwards!! The bathrooms are very "boutique chic" and spotless, the nicest ones in a B&B I have come across. The bed was about 7ft by 7ft and very comfortable.

If someone was asking me to be really. really critical there were only two things that I could think of to mention:

(a) There are no individual locks on the room doors - so you do not need a key. I did find this quite strange - as most B&B's have individual locks for each room. I suspect it is becuase Alan see's it as you sharing his home "like a friend" and doesnt feel the need to spoil the look of his home by putting locks on each door - and his home is beautiful. I felt very safe and secure but some people might find this a little odd.

I suffer from Asthma and Alan had wonderful duvets and pillows but they were 'all feather' which is quite unusual nowdays. To be fair to Alan I did not mention this before our arrival, so he was totally unaware that this was going to be a problem for me. He hunted high and low and did manage to find me a pillow that wasnt feather and an extra thick "pillow protector" to put over one of the other pillows, and as it was so warm when we stayed there the duvet was folded up at the bottom of the bed anyway - but it might be useful to keep a few pillows that were not feather.

All in all we had a fantastic time, Alan is a real "old school gentleman" - you just dont find people like him very often. It was a pleasure to stay in his house and I would recommend it to anyone. He even offered to drive us to a fantastic pub and restaurant a couple of miles away in case we "all" wanted to have a drink and this pub - in a place called "hollow bottom" does a return taxi service for a few pounds !!!!! The food was fantastic as was the beer - so my husband tells me !!!! As both the ladies in the party dont drink we didnt need to take him up on this - but it was lovely of him to offer. There were tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but Alan showed you where everything was in his kitchen so you could come down and get "fresh milk" in the morning. When my husband went down to get some, Alan was just making tea and coffee for another guest and he made some for us and brought it up - that's just the kind of man he is - wonderful !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dionnevoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

My stay at Fieldways is one I'll never forget, in no small part due to proprietor Alan Graham's fantastic hospitality. We arrived late on our first night, just after dark on a summer's night (which is to say quite late). Alan greeted us in his dressing gown, poured us glasses of wine and then - after an unsuccessful attempt to get some food at the pub down the road - invited us into his private room where he was having a lovely candlelit dinner date, sat us down on his bed and served us dinner from his own meal, despite our protestations. If that isn't a great way to take care of your guests, I don't know what is! Add to it the spectacular surroundings, Alan's bountiful and proper English breakfasts and the adorable house dog Flora (not to mention the spoiled cats lounging their days away in the sun), and Fieldways is a place I will yearn to return to until the end of my days. Pray that it comes sooner rather than later!

Do not hesitate to spend some time here, the longer the better. Alan, thank you again so very much for the incredible experience, as brief as it was. We'll never forget it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north devon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Oh my goodness, where do we start?. This was a perfect setting for our short relaxing break. The host, Alan Graham, is an old school gentleman who goes out of his way to ensure his guests are comfortable and well looked after. His house is beautiful and quite suberb. The breakfasts are wholesome and kept us going throughout the day. Alan really does care and wants you to make the most out of your time with him.
The rooms are large, spotless and comfortable. We chose this B&B, as we wanted to take our dog to a place where he would be welcome. He truly was made as welcome as we were. We take out hats off to you Alan, and look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Aston
12.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Great Rissington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldways

Property: Fieldways
Address: 12 Chapel Lane | Cold Aston, Cold Aston GL54 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cold Aston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Aston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIELDWAYS is a large, beautifully furnished country house equipped with every modern comfort, offering relaxed B&B accommodation in the heart of the Cotswolds.Set in the time warped village of Cold Aston, it has magnificent views of the surrounding countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The village itself was awarded the Bledisloe Cup for the best kept small village in the Cotswolds. It is just a short drive from Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold.FIELDWAYS has three charming guest rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms or shower rooms. Visitors are welcome to use the beautifully appointed drawing room for afternoon tea or as the perfect place to relax after a busy day discovering the local area. A delicious English Country House breakfast is served each morning in the traditional dining room where a veritable feast of local produce can be enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fieldways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing