We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service and perfect for an overnight stop on The Cotswold Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 North Nibley B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great friendly service and perfect for an overnight stop on The Cotswold Way”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Danny and his team were so attentive, warm and friendly. Running a traditional 'oldey worldey' pub with great food and local atmosphere.
Comfy rooms with clean sheets and towels and well equipped to recharge your batteries for more sight seeing along The Cotswold Way. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaRLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Rebecca RLV

I am delighted you found us to be good value for money and you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to share this on trip advisor and would love to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Danny - Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    94
    39
    23
    7
See reviews for
62
107
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked for 1 nights stay on Wednesday 19th June 2013 after the Pub had recently reopened under new ownership. I have to say they couldn't have done more for me. From carrying my bags upto the room for me to phoning taxi's. Very friendly family run pub. The rooms were spotless and although the breakfast was continental it was to a high standard. I enjoyed my stay and will definatly be comming back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepixiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

12 of us walking the Cotswold Way. 7 stayed here, 5 up the road, but we all ate here. The new Landlord and his wife were extremely friendly, very helpful, and bent over backwards to make us welcomed. They even tumbledried washing, allowed us to watch Downton whilst eating, and had the chef in specially for us (we'd booked in advance) at at time when they normally don't serve meals.
BUT they do have 2 noisy dogs, and the bedrooms are not noiseproof and you can hear everything from the bar below. Take ear plugs. Great for being actually ON the Cotswold Way, convenient and friendly. Not luxurious by any means, but good for walkers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Can't say enough about how good the service was, over and above what was expected. The land lord is as friendly as could be and couldn't do enough to make us welcome and help us , even though we was soaked and covered in mud.room was great and so was breakfast. We ate in the bar on the evening and the food was tops and greAt value for money. 10/10 guys well done , great b&bs and bar. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smeg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

On the Cotswold Way, this is a perfect resting point. We were a family with a seven year old and a seventy-something year old. We only stayed one night, but the bed was comfy, the showers were hot, and the food good. They carry real ales and quality food. Landlords were very friendly and went out of their way to make us sack lunches for the next day. Super great.

Room Tip: It is an older inn, ask for a drying rack if you need it. There is one available, but it may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Nibley
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,451 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
407 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: 1 Barrs Lane | Dursley, North Nibley GL11 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > North Nibley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Nibley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional country inn offers Four cask ales, ciders & lagers with comfortable en-suite bed & breakfast accommodation.The bar is friendly, with a mix of locals and visitors.The pub is on the route of the Cotswold Way, in the centre of the beautiful village of North Nibley, sat beneath the Tyndale Monument, in-between the pretty market towns of Wotton-under-Edge and Dursley, With breath-taking views and walks right on our doorstep, it's perfectly located for Sunday lunch, an overnight stop, or a longer stay.When the sun is shining you can sit outside, with tables at the front, and an enclosed beer garden at the rear.We welcome families with children and dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing