We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding Weekend”
Review of Road Green House

Road Green House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Nibley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Road Green House
Ranked #3 of 3 North Nibley B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our family took over Road Green House for the weekend of my daughter's wedding. It was an oasis of comfort and calm at a time when we could have been stressed by all sorts. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors, Claire and David. They cooked us a marvellous meal one evening and even offered to taxi us here and there. On top of that, they cared for a frail, elderly relative, who on the day, couldn't quite rally and come to the wedding, and then waited up for us until we staggered home very late, requesting Marmite sandwiches. We will go back - to see the local attractions next time - but mostly to enjoy spending a few days in someone else's superbly appointed home, confident that we will want for nothing.

Room Tip: You do not have to worry which room you have, believe me.....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirzairons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

I am trying to find adjectives not previously used to describe our two-night stay at Road Green House. The facilities, food, gardens and David and Claire’s hospitality (not to mention reasonable tariff) are astounding! The house is in a superb setting surrounded by splendid gardens with a delightful choice of outdoor sitting/dining areas. Claire and David are inspirational hosts, so warm and welcoming, and utterly bomb-proof when we experienced a medical emergency in the wee small hours; Claire even making tea for the emergency medical personnel at 2 am and serving breakfast at 8 am fresh and bright! Nothing was too much trouble; locally sourced food was of the highest standard and our rooms gorgeously furnished. It is impossible to truly describe our experience here – extraordinary, superb, outstanding, fabulous, beautiful, immaculate – the amount of thought that has gone into presentation and care of visitors is astonishing. Visit at your next opportunity (yes, even Her Majesty!) and come up with more adjectives! You’ll be thrilled you did. No tv a blessing.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our only issue is fear of not getting booked in again by giving this review. Claire and David have created the perfect B&B and are the most welcoming and accomodating of hosts. Their knowledge of the Cotswolds and their wonderful recommendations only add to the whole relaxing experience.

My Wife, her Father and I stayed for three nights which oh how we wish was 3 months. if we have one complaint it is that David and Claire have not opened a chain, as every town should have a Road Green House nearby. That said Claire and David would probably have to be cloned as there can be no doubt it is their wonderful caring personalities that makes Road Green House the special place it is.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. Just hope there will still be room for us next time we come your way!

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bestofuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at the Road Green House for 4 nights last week (mid June), having originally booked for 3. My wife picked the Road Green House based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Claire & David were the most lovely and charming hosts, making us feel so welcome, from the moment we walked through their door. It is hard to add to the many previous comments, as yes, the gardens are gorgeous, the house is beautiful, the breakfasts are superb and most importantly Claire and David are so thoughtful and attentive, whist allowing us the opportunity to enjoy the facilities at their home. I'm sure anyone thinking of coming to visit this lovely part of the country, would struggle to find anywhere nicer to stay than with Claire and David.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLynn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed at the Road Green house over the Jubilee weekend for the second time. It is such a beautiful house - the gardens are fantastic and the rooms are delightful. The breakfast is delicious and you could not ask for more helpful, warm and friendly hosts, Claire and David. Nothing was too much trouble for them and it really is a fantastic B&B in an incredibly beautiful part of the English countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in late May 2012 .Absolutely fantastic.Ticked every box and more.
Would recommend it to the Queen.Simply the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potter875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wow! I stayed here with my family the night before my sister's wedding and Claire could not have made us feel more at home. The house is stunning and the rooms were well decorated and very comfortable. Only downside was their was no TV in the rooms, usually this wouldn't have been an issue but my poor sister (the bride to be) was up all night wracked with nerves and desperately wanted to watch something to take her mind off her impending nuptials! There was also no hospitality tray but this wasn't really a problem as the kitchen was such a lovely place to sit with the family and and have a drink together. Maybe not so good if you're travelling alone...
The gardens are breathtaking and immaculately kept, fantastic for the morning wedding pictures.
Claire couldn't do enough for us and her breakfasts were fantastic, she even managed to coax my nervous sister to eat something on the morning of her big day!
I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, perfect for a wedding party or for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms had a wonderful view of the gardens. Take a good book to read if you normally like a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Road Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Green House

Address: Road Green House Road Green | Nr. Dursley, North Nibley GL11 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > North Nibley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Nibley
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing