We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place”
Review of Road Green House

Road Green House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Nibley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Road Green House
Ranked #3 of 3 North Nibley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Road Green House the night before my wedding, and Claire and David couldn't have been more helpful, kind or welcoming to us. My bridesmaids and I stayed in the cottage and the rest of my family stayed in the main house, and all the rooms were beautifully decorated and spotless. Claire served us a delicious meal in the cottage in the evening. The gardens are beautiful and we had some wonderful photographs taken there in the morning before the wedding. Claire also found a fantastic florist, hairdresser and make-up artist for the wedding day, and overall was the perfect host for a pre-wedding stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have been meaning to write a review of this place for some time. A whole bunch of us stayed here over Easter in 2009 (TA only gives me the option to go back to Sept 2010) and I cannot rate this place highly enough.

Pristine bedrooms, wicked views, marvellous breakfasts, Road Green House is a top drawer B&B - you might even be able to notch it towards boutique B&B if you wanted - in which the hosts Claire and David effectively allow you to come in and take over the place during your stay.

Whether you're plonked on outside table trawling through the Sunday papers with a cup of tea or lazing by the fire in the 'guests common room' in the evenings being regaled with stories from the charismatic host David, this is an oasis of excellent English hospitality amidst the rambling Cotswolds.

Each bedroom is incredibly well appointed, the furnishings, sheets and so forth are excellent. The views from the bedrooms take you across green fields and the beautiful English garden maintained to a high standard (a garden which they were more than happy for us to conduct an Easter egg hunt for around 15 or so hungover late twenty year olds).

The hosts are happy to help out with everything too. Claire and David provided us with recommendations for local eating and as much help as we needed to book taxis, make reservations and so forth. They are truly pleasant and will honestly be a highlight of your stay giving you that sort of warm charm that makes a trip just that much better.

This is truly a wonderful place, you'd be mad to look anywhere else.

Room Tip: We had a large room, first floor, looking over a field with the garden off to the left. Highly recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_chew_you_chew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We have just got back from our first trip to the Cotswolds and couldn't have had a nicer time thanks to our hosts at Road Green House. David and Claire were a lovely couple who welcomed us into their home with warmth, nothing was too much trouble for them and they couldn't do enough for you, their home is lovely and immaculate and we will definitely be going again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnesy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Claire and David were wonderful hosts throughout our stay at their beautiful home. Nothing was too much trouble for them, providing a warm and genuine service. The house and room were of the highest standards. We stayed in the holiday cottage which is a fantastic space. The garden is beautiful offering an added dimension to the stay. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choice. The house is easy to get to and is a good springboard location for the Cotswolds and beyond. In our view truly unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim_lumley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our highest praise for this elegant and charming home-away-from-home. Hosts Claire and David keep a beautiful, cheerful home tucked just off the Cotswold Way, not far from the village of North Nibley. Claire and David lavish attention when requested and remain attentive at just the right distance, if desired. Claire went out of her way to get to know the kind of holiday we were after (a retreat, as it happened, with plenty of lying in time for reading, writing, reflection) and made sure that we had what we needed. David was always ready with tea or coffee, or hard at work in their amazing gardens. Claire guided us to local eateries that served delicious meals. The room was ample for us to spread out; furnishings throughout reveal Claire's touch with antiques and decorating. We hope to return to this special place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlapjackBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My boyfriend & I booked Road Green House for a weekend break. I contacted Claire by e mail to ask for availability and then called to book the room. The price for what you get is definitely great value for money and the House is absolutely stunning, just like something out of Good Housekeeping magazine, but what really sets this place apart from other B&B's/Hotels we have previsouly stayed in is the hosts, Claire & David Billingham are a truely delightful couple and make you feel so welcome, they are genuinely interested in what you have to say and it was really more like staying with friends. They were so helpful from beginning to end, from suggesting things to do by e mail before we got there to giving us directions to Bath and suggestions of where to park etc.

It was also a lovely touch to have Tea & Coffee left outside the room at a convenient time to you, and to taste the lovely local sausages at breakfast! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

Katie & Rory

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdswestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, Devon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The proprietors do all they can to make you comfortable. Morning tea is provided freshly made with a knock on the door. Room tray if you want it. The whole house is kept immaculately, as is the garden. You have breakfast around a large dining table with the other guests at the time you wish. Same applies to dinner. Loads of books to read and regularly tended wood burner in the lounge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Nibley
6.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
670 reviews
21.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,500 reviews
20.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Green House

Property: Road Green House
Address: Road Green House Road Green | Nr. Dursley, North Nibley GL11 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > North Nibley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Nibley
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing