We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special”

The Lion at Farnsfield
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Farnsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I often go for my lunch and sometimes share a sandwhich because i cant manage a full one.the staff are very friendly,nothing is too much,i love the parlour.The over all experience is cosy and special

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    123
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
284 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a first visit and I had heard good things about the Lion. We were not disappointed. It was a busy Friday evening but we enjoyed good food, good service and great atmosphere. We will be going back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahweb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Absolutely top quality cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently visited the Lion again and if anything the place has improved. You must book well in advance as the place gets very busy, especially Friday / Saturday nights, but you will not be disappointed. Had an amazing meal - the Blade of Beef was incredible. Starter gorgeous and the dessert outstanding. The staff are very easy to talk to, and although quite a young team, are very professional and 'on the money' when it comes to great service. Service was just right - not too long or short between courses, and the prices are very reasonable - you will not leave this place hungry! I will definitely be returning again to this amazing restaurant / pub - judge the place by how popular it is - it would not be this busy unless it was damned good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dean1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch in Nottingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you like eating out on Sundays and looking for a place that does a Sunday lunch to a high standard than this is the place to try . For under a tenner you can enjoy the most delicious roast beef dinner and the veg is cooked perfectly not over done. Service and atmosphere to match. Could not recommend enough, in fact in a couple of hours we shall be going there again to meet friends for lunch. !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themanthatnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“judge a pub by its toilets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

3/4 time here .allways fri/sat night so allways busy food was ok ,but for what they are charging you think your in a four star hotel .but the standard is not up to scratch,service a little to much in your face .but my main gripe was when i went to the loo. never been before .no hot water cold dribbling out of tap ,fithly loo (only one no urinule)no soap very little loo roll ...not very good ,get a plumber in ,.and a cleaner very poor..did mention this to the mangeress

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antony2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion at Farnsfield also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire
 
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Lion at Farnsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing