We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip to Komune”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Keramas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Komune for 3 nights, which was only meant to be 1 night, but we loved it so much we cancelled our other booking and came back to Komune. Photos speak for themselves, resort and beach club are fantastic, and the rooms are great, especially for the price and location. But the real reason this place is so great is the staff and the food!
Started off with Marshal at reception who was really cool and let us check in early, and check out later so we could make our late flight back home. Then the staff at the beach club were great as well, particularly Agus and DJ "junior". They all introduced themselves when we arrived and made sure that we were always looked after and attended to if we needed anything, but they weren't pushy or overbearing. Food was epic too, particular mention to the Nasi Campur and the Chilli Calamari, we thought it was really well priced considering the quality, and the head chef was very approachable as well, and came round for a chat to everyone during dinner etc to make sure the meals were all good.

We will definitly be coming back, and are really looking forward to the Villas opening up in the near future so we can come back with some friends!

ps. particular mention as well to the gardener dude in the black hoodie (despite the fact it was 30 degrees), he had the vege garden looking awesome!

Room Tip: We stayed in 335 which is sort of down near the back, nice n quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 972 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner is a surfer and had heard of the place. He came few years ago to surf when there was nothing there. We stayed for one night only.
We just loved the whole concept : veggie garden, solar panels... Perfect eco/modern match. Food / drinks are really good, we didnt want the night to end haha! the staff is helpful and always nice.
The rooms are well designed though they'd need a bit more light but thats just personal taste. Very comfortable.
The only issue is maybe that the rooms are not really soundproof, but that also comes from the whole sustainability concept. It is still great.

We will come again. For sure.
Well done to the whole staff !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choccy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at Komune for 2 nights.
Place: pleasant, basic rooms. Worth the money you pay. No privacy as no glass on windows and you can hear all conversations, not to mention the neighbors movies. The fan made an awful noise but even after service the irritating noise persisted.
Restaurant: complete rip off! Charge you much more than food is worth and its not even " good yummy" food tht u just can't forget....
Thus, the money you save on stay is charged off in the exorbitant restaurant food and beverages.
Overall ambience of restaurant, pool and bar area , which is on the beach is nice.
Not at all child friendly as path stones have gaps where kids keep tripping.
Service staff polite and good but it takes ages for any response as the service area seems very far fm the rooms..
What was the point of a budget holiday ?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalaRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komuneresort, Owner at Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Mala T

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Given you are a fellow resort owner in Bali we generally appreciate constructive feedback from our peers. Our staff felt a little disappointed to receive your review and they cannot understand how such a positive personal reviews you gave them became a negative one on Trip Advisor.

When your wife advised she has special dietary requirements our kitchen team came out, met you both and designed a meal to suit her especially at a price you agreed.

After the meal you and your wife were so happy you gave our Beach Club staff a US$25 tip, the largest our staff have ever received.

We believe our menu is priced fairly for a business operating lawfully and paying the correct wages and taxes and purchasing our food from safe suppliers as well as growing our own on site. All our pricing is benchmarked against good quality cafes and restaurants in Ubud and Sanur.

Our stage one resort rooms are also very well priced for a beachfront resort averaging USD70 - 80++ per night with first class Beach Club facilities. These rooms represent our starting room inventory. Stage two of our resort will include larger and more luxurious rooms and beach front and beach side villas.

We are sorry and disappointed Mala that we did not meet you expectations during your stay but please know we really tried our best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and cater for your unique requirements.

Kind Regards

Tony C
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Watching the surf and the surfers at Keramas Beach makes me regret that I never learned surfing myself. In the absence of that, the next best thing is sitting at the Komune Beach Club's bar during daylight high tide and watched the waves roll and the young crowd ride them. The bar is open air and designed for sea view, of course. Have a juice or a coffee or a beer while watching. Don't forget binoculars. You can also have breakfast, lunch or dinner at that bar. The quality of the food is good, though the range of choice is limited. I have not used the place as a hotel, so I can't talk about the rooms.
The only reservation that I have about this great facility is its isolation: it is nearly a half hour drive to Sanur with its bars and restaurants. No other hotel or restaurant is nearby, so dependance on the hotel is high. Is that worth a star deduction? Decide for yourself.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The resort was just brilliant, staff were terrific, food was scrumptious - the whole experience was like nothing else I have had on many previous trips to Bali. The resort manager is a fantastically friendly Australian guy who clearly had the place running seamlessly, and could never seem to do enough for us to make our stay fantastic. The resort has been extremely well designed for those looking for a great seaside holiday experience, and of course you have Keramas straight out the front, which is a welcome gem of a wave for natural footers in Indo. Cannot wait to return !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Where to start!! This place has it all, the rooms, location and atmosphere of the place really is as good as it looks on the webpage. The surf was epic despite the pumped up brazillian nutjob.

To top this off though, it is the Komune staff that really made the difference!!
Everyone was so friendly and happy, always up for a chat, treating you as a good friend as well as a guest.

Dewa, Omes, Made Juna, the girls nanik and wahyu and all the other bar and waitstaff were incredible. you guys really did make this a special holiday for us- suksma!! In the front office Marcell and the crew were always smiling and ready to help!

The head chef suangga is INCREDIBLE. All the food was so fresh every day, we tried almost the entire menu and recieved nothing but quality, the nasi campur was an awesome post surf lunch! Beyond the food, he was such a happy and friendly man regularly coming out for a chat and looking for feedback

Finally, thanks so much for organising the private dinner for my girlfriend Frances' 21st birthday, (in the oakley contest area), it was amazing!! Complete with complimentary birthday cake, cocktails, romantic flowers, candles and private waiters it really was a special night!

All in all this place is amazing and I will definitely be coming back one day!!

Thank you so much KOMUNE

Kippa and Frances, from Western Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KippaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The amount of positive reviews already on this site offer true testament to how good this resort really is. The landscape architecture, modern rooms, dazzling location and excellent service make this place 5 star but affordable, even for young travellers like us.
All the staff have excellent English and are extremely friendly, taking time out of their tasks to have a chat and get to know you by name. In particular, we'd like to mention the restaurant manager Agus and head chef Suangga. Agus is visibly passionate about his job, incredibly easy to talk to and runs the restaurant, bar and pool area like clockwork.
In addition to the delicious food coming from the kitchen, Suangga personally brought us out complementary creations of his own in an attempt to gain feedback on future menu items. They were absolutely delish. Both men were strikingly kind hearted and exuded enthusiasm for their job.
The surf was also pumping during our stay. One can live the ultimate surfer lifestyle here. Surf, eat, sleep. We heard that there's plenty to do around the area but we chose to be resort-bound for our stay. We just didn't want to leave.
See you guys next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keramas
1.4 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
14 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bali Diamond Villas
Bali Diamond Villas
#3 of 3 in Keramas
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,979 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Address: Jl. Pantai Keramas | Keramas, Keramas, Blahbatuh, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Blahbatuh > Keramas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Keramas
Price Range: $98 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komune Bali Resort and Beach Club overlooks the famous Keramas right-hand reef break on Bali's beautiful East Coast. This resort and beach club provides great facilities in addition to world class waves. Hotel Komune and Beach Club at Keramas Beach in Bali Set on the lush and unspoilt East Coast of Bali, Hotel Komune Resort and Beach Club is blessed with a hypnotizing view of the world famous Keramas surf break. This resort is 50 minutes away from Ngurah Rai International Airport. With its pristine volcanic beach, this 4 star beachfront bali resort offers a wonderful experience of spending leisure time in a natural luxury hotel. Hotel Komune at Keramas Bali Hotel features 66 impressive rooms and suites. Sumptuously appointed accommodation with artistic furniture, this unique Bali resort articulates the identity of the Island of the Gods. Our Beach Club was voted in the top 5 in Asia and the executive chef brings his worldwide cuisine experience into the dishes. Inviting entertainments and exquisite nibbles from Asia, Europe, and Australia are being served in themed night dinners. The body deserves a reward after a hard day in the surf , and Hotel Komune Bali's joglo spa understands how to pamper the body - from head to toe. The wide selection of treatments caters both adults and children needs. Thanks to the awesome ocean vista, Hotel Komune at Keramas Bali features selections of idyllic Bali wedding venues: Bali beach lawn wedding, and Traditional Beachfront warung wedding. Champagne, bouquet, decoration, and other petite details are wrapped in the Bali wedding packages. Corporate meeting rooms with artistic Balinese touch are other opulences of this 5 star resort. The all inclusive incentives package is designed for professionals. Komune has a world class Health and Wellness Facility featuring a 25 m lap pool, fitness centre, large yoga pavilions and general training rooms, spin class, functional training centre and Healthy cafe. Hotel Komune spa and retail shop features 8 sumptuous treatment rooms with 4 wet treatment rooms, a hair, mani pedi salon and gorgeous boutique. Called a family friendly resort, the warm Komune activity team arranges various children activities to develop the creativity. With all the luxury inclusions, Hotel Komune Bali is definitely worth listing on every Bali itinerary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing