We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!!!”

Old Route 66 Family Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Dwight
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were traveling up to Chicago when we decided to stop by.

The hostess/waitress was super friendly, she asked if it was our first time and was very helpful and gave us plenty of time to order.

Wait took a bit.
We ordered a chicken dinner and bbq wings.
Food was delicious and hottttt!
Was worth the wait completely!
Pie was amazing!

If I ever go through here again I would defiantly return!

Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nostalgica galore!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved this place, this is the exact place you think of when you hear about an american diner. It was nice! It was cozy! And the food was delicious! It was cheap too! We had a blast here and were feeling bad that we were too full for a piece of pie, it looked so delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cornelis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice Nostalgic Place”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a family and friends luncheon here after a funeral. There was about 25 people that ordered off the menu for there lunch. The staff did a great job of taking orders and then having them processed in the kitchen. When they started bringing the food out, it was non stop serving everybody.

I did not hear one (1) complaint from anybody about there food, only kudos. All the food was hot, homemade and tasty with ample portions.

Would definitely stop here again in the course of our travels.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Friendly and filling”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Menu has many selections but don't miss the specials on the white board--some things on there are not on the menu. Down home, fill the tummy type of food, and plenty of it, right on Route 66. Numerout selections without fries, I tried the cabbage rolls on special. As in many restaurants, ask for gravy on the side if your preference is not for food to be drowned. Saw many chicken box takeouts in the short time we were there, but we did not try chicken this time around. Was early evening around 5:30-6:00, and the service was very fast for a Saturday night. Folks just starting to come in. Host and hostess talked to locals by name, waitresses were very friendly. Food was average but atmosphere was very comfortable, and would come back to try something else. About a 10 minute jaunt off I-55. Have to get on Rte 66, between Exits 217 and 220.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank roadtripmajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good Family Restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Another hidden gem we would not have found without trip advisor. Everyone praised the broasted chicken, but we didn't want to wait the 30 minutes for it to be freshly prepared. Our sandwich and gyros were good. Service was slow because the place was very busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ChitownCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Route 66 Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing