We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best birthday EVER!!!”
Review of the W Restaurant

the W Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in DuQuoin
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best birthday EVER!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Unique and charming! The staff, decor, and food were incredible! Highly recommend it to everyone! It was the best birthday experience ever!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mamat808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was in Du Quoin on business and was looking for a different place to eat and the owner of the B & B where I was staying suggested the W. The W is a hidden gem in Perry County, IL. Opened on the site of a horse ranch just west of Du Quoin. A very thorough menu featuring entrees not usually found in a small town. I have now eaten there several times and always enjoyed my meal. I first had Chicken Jerusalem and enjoyed it. Since then, I have had the Steak Gorgonzola, which was good but was a little over-powered by the gorgonzola cheese. On my most recent visit, I had Pasta alle Vodka with shrimp, again very good. Service has been attentive but not intrusive on each visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiteman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuQuoin, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Casual but unique atmosphere and delicious food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The W Restaurant is one of the best kept secrets in Southern Illinois. Located less than 2 miles west of Du Quoin on Route 152, it provides both the casual ranch type setting for those that like a fun time in the bar where you can watch riders on horses rope calves in the huge covered arena or the fine dining experience in the actual dining room with white tablecloths. The menu is varied from the best sandwiches (black and bleu burger--my favorite) with homemade fries to choices of steak, chicken, salmon or pasta. My personal favorite is Chicken Jerusalem ... the artichoke sauce is fantastic. I highly recommend the W. You have to see and taste for yourself.
It won't be a secret for long.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flawless”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

what a great experience. amazing food, unbeatable price, friendly staff, unique drinks, best place in southern Illinois.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place was fabulous. It had a wonderful ambiance to it. The food was of excellent quality. Hats off to the chef. The staff was friendly. I believe this is one of the best restaurants in DuQuoin. Thank you for the pleasant dining experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Canman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing