We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at this amazing place!”

Corrour Station House
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Corrour
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hidden away in the Scottish Highlands, Corrour Station House is one of the most remote restaurants in Scotland, as it is only accessible via train or on foot. After being welcomed by a roaring fire, we serve teas, coffees, homebaked goods, soups and filling Scottish-themed meals, including local venison. We cater for a large range of guests including hillwalkers, train enthusiasts and other visitors to this beautiful location. We are open 7 days a week, from 8.30am till 9pm, throughout the months of April to October. Closing date for the 2016 season is the 31st October. We will re-open in March 2017.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay at this amazing place!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this amazing place from 25 till 27 October! The food was delicious: the chicken ballantine was certainly one of the best meals I ever had in a restaurant! We were made very welcome, and so was our dog. Most restaurants nowadays don't allow dogs anymore, but we were very happy to hear our Ty was welcome to stay with us, even in the dining area where we had our delicious meals. Lizzie and Ollie really did everything in their power to make things easy for us. It was no problem that we asked for some dog food for our dog, or that we asked for a packed lunch on our walks. The hosts, nor the restaurant, nor the accommodation, cannot be faulted. Perfect, 5 stars all round! We'll certainly come back to this fantastic place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_Sebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHR-Manager, General Manager at Corrour Station House, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear J0hn_Sebastian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Corrour Station House Restaurant. It was truly a delight to have you, Hedwig and Ty staying with us here in October and we're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed the experience.

Here at Corrour Station House Restaurant we aim to offer an ever-changing, imaginative and (most importantly) delicious menu full of locally sourced ingredients. We are happy to hear that you found the chicken ballotine to be one of the best meals you've ever had, it warms our hearts to hear such praise. Thank you!

We're also so pleased that you were able to bring your lovely dog Ty to stay. We welcome dogs in both our restaurant and accommodation, and hope that the stay was just as enjoyable for him.

We hope to see you here again in 2014, as always we have bigger and better things planned for our future here at Corrour and we look forward to sharing them with you.

Warm wishes from a cold Corrour,

Lizzie & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    16
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Made our holiday special”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was one of the best meals we've ever had, both for the quality of the food and the whole experience. The train journey through the stunning countryside is a treat, and when you get off at Corrour, the silence is amazing. The restaurant has a lovely feel to it and we were made to feel very welcome and relaxed - more like house guests. The food was outstanding. We were allowed gaps between the substantial courses because we didn't want to miss out on any of them. Afterwards we relaxed by the fire with coffee, before hopping on the train home again. Just brilliant. The couple who run this should be very proud of what they have achieved here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHR-Manager, Owner at Corrour Station House, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear AliH888,

We are over the moon to hear how much you enjoyed your Corrour Station House Restaurant dining experience in October 2013. It is such a joy for us to read such praises and we are truly grateful that you took the time to write a review for us.

We are happy that you have commented on the 'whole experience' of your trip to Corrour. From the feeling you get when the train pulls away leaving you standing in immediate unspoilt surroundings, to the cosy homely interior, to the roaring fire and the menu packed full of local delights - there are many components make up The Corrour Experience and we hope that each and everyone is special.

We have a lot of exciting things planned for our future here at Corrour. A newly renovated fourth bedroom will be launched in the spring alongside a tasty new menu. We hope that Corrour Station House Restaurant will become a home-away-from-home to all that pass through our doors over the years and look forward to having you here again in the future.

Warm wishes,

Lizzie & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing welcome”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed on the 16th of October 2013 in the Monarch suite and what a treat! We were made welcome and fed with fantastic food. The other guests were just as impressed. Lizzie and Ollie are working hard to make this an experience worth every penny. This is an oasis of quality accommodation and excellent food in a wild and remote location. Will be back soon..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValShedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHR-Manager, Owner at Corrour Station House, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ValShedden,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with your recent stay with us here on Corrour.

Corrour Station House Restaurant aims to provide a memorable, relaxing stay in breath-taking surroundings. With the introduction of a fourth bedroom in spring 2014 (after upcoming winter renovations) and a lovely new menu to launch, we have a lot of exciting things planned for our future here at Corrour to further improve the guest experience.

We hope to see you once again in 2014!

Lizzie & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fabulous place!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were staying in one of the cottages on the Corrour estate, and had heard the Station was a nice place to eat, well it was absolutely wonderful, Lizzie is such a welcoming hostess, and the food Ollie is producing is first class, we had two entertaining evenings with the fire blazing and lots of friendly chatter, its the perfect place to rest your aching feet and unwind at the end of a hard day walking, we are hoping to return soon, well done to a lovely young couple!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordoncaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHR-Manager, Owner at Corrour Station House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Gordon & Caroline,

Thank you so much for your lovely review after dining with us here at Corrour. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your two evening meals here. It was wonderful to meet you and a pleasure to cater for you!

We have many exciting things planned for our future here and do hope that you can join us again for another memorable dining experience.

Warmest of wishes,

Lizzie & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“highlight of our trip”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the spectacular train journey, to a hilly boggy walk with children and dogs - this evening started well. It got better. The hosts of corrour are charming, the interior funky and unexpected in the middle of nowhere (literally - you can only get here by train), perfect Scottish views (we were lucky, the sun came out) and the food delicious - with an emphasis on local produce. Our big transatlantic party of two noisy families (ranging from 3 years up) were welcomed despite a troupe of wet muddy dogs and children - they even whipped up a pudding that they thought the kids would enjoy (and we all did). We all agreed it was the highlight of an already great holiday in the highlands.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank messynessy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHR-Manager, Owner at Corrour Station House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Messynessy8,

Ollie and I are delighted to hear that your visit to our little restaurant on Corrour was the highlight of your trip. We aim to provide memorable, unique dining experiences to people from all walks of life and are glad that it proved so successful with your large and wonderful family.

The interior of our restaurant aims to be eclectic and fresh yet incredibly homely. We hope that this makes our customers feel instantly at ease, as though in their own living room.

We love having children in the restaurant and are delighted to hear that they enjoyed their special dessert. Wet, muddy dogs are also more than welcome to snuggle down by the fire, we adore them!

We hope to see you all here again in the future.

Warm wishes,

Lizzie & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrour Station House also viewed

Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Corrour Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing