We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable, solid ... and a great shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had a single night's stay on the way to business in Chicago. Very pleasant, very affordable, seems fresh and up-to-date. The beds were clean and comfortable, the room was quiet, the a/c was powerful and quiet.

Highlight: outstanding water pressure in the shower (I hate showers that dribble on me, this one was excellent) and a very clean bath.

Low point: coffee. Not much above gas station coffee, but it was hot, free and caffeinated. There's a Panera across the road for somewhat better coffee and decent food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David52806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Mr. David
Thank you so much for letting us knows about your stay at our Red Roof Inn – Downers Grove. I was very happy to know that you noticed all of the upgrades done in our recent renovation. It is so delightful to read positive feedback like yours. Let me know if I can be of any service to you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

This red roof inn . Seems to always disappoint me!!!! House keeping do a poor Job. I almost always find something wrong with my room. Dirty towels, bath tub have been dirty. Some times the bed have had hair on it. I have had Bugs in my room before. They have updated they rooms and they do look nice, but House keeping don't do they job. They are good at busting in your room. The staff need customer services training. I don't even complain anymore. They don't accommodate you anyway. Why do I keep staying there. I was hoping they would get better. But this past Friday was my last time staying there. Red roof inn is not for me. One time I had a issue at this location, I was told the GM would be contacting me. It never happened . I was drying off and realize the towel I was using was dirty, so I'm still feeling discussed it about that. That was my breaking point with Red roof Inn Chicago-downers Grove.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trimainew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Trimainew

I appreciate the time given to write a review. As I read it, I immediately became very concern, primarily because you mentioned that you are one of our loyal guests. I would like to be given an opportunity to rectify all your concerns. Please feel free to contact me at the Hotel, at any time at (630)963-4205. I can assure you that I will take the proper corrective action; my goal is to meet all your expectations in your next visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I only stayed a night at this hotel. It was pretty quiet so that was nice. The rooms are decent, nothing to speak off. definitely not awful or anything. If you're just looking for a cheap stay for a night, this is a good place. It is about 25 mins outside of downtown Chicago...
There is no breakfast service but there is coffee and tea in the lobby. .
No pool or hot tub.
Bathroom is decent.
If you're not from Illinois and you don't know where you're going, i'd advise you get a map (you can get them at a toll both)
There at Tolls every 10 miles on the main highways and it's absolutely ridiculous. But there are other highways around the main ones that will get you were you need to go. Don't give in to the toll booths! They steal all your money!!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the main highways, the toll booths will take everything you have. Ask the front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryde4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Ride4life

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. At Red Roof Inn-Downers Grove we value our guest feedback. I am very happy that after our renovation, you found our hotel to be delightful and at the right price. I apologize for not having breakfast service in our facility, but we have many restaurant choices in a short distance. My team and I would gladly be at your service, so we can assist you by providing more guidance and directions around town in your next visit to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want to be treated with dignity and class. The rooms have been newly remodeled and very pleasant to the eyes. Everything is kept immaculate and all details are tended to even the little sticker on the toilet paper. The staff is a pleasure and ALWAYs willing to make sure you are comfortable and satisfied. Every time I stay I am welcomed as if I were part of the family. This is a no smoking site which thrills me beyond belief because all it says to me is someone else cares about me breathing second hand stale cigarette smoke in my room too.The mattresses and pillows make it very difficult to get out of bed. I will return as often as I get a chance!!! Give them a try, you won't be disappointed, I promise you!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanChicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Juan
It is such a pleasure to read reviews like yours, thank you for that. At Red Roof Inn Downers Grove, we are driven by our customers and we treat all of them just like you said with dignity and class. Our renovation has been such a success that we are getting nothing but positive comments including yours. We also believe in having our property ready for sale at all times because our first impression to your eyes leaves a farewell feeling in our hearts. My team and I are so happy that our customers are fully satisfied with our service. We can’t wait to see you on your next visit to Red Roof Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed at this place twice now and it is clean and a good value. Was close to my overall favorite restaraunt. the patio. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Close to the school my son is going to. Recently doing more renovations so they are keeping the property up.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Chris
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review. The team at Red Roof Inn Downers Grove and I, are glad to hear that your favorite restaurant is one of the many popular restaurants in our area. I am happy to hear that your son’s school is near us as well and I am so very glad that we are your first hotel choice. The renovations you have mentioned had been done with valued guests like you in mind and I cannot wait to see you upon your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Now that the new renovation are in place, the inn has taken on a whole new look. Throughly love the new floor, beds, just very appealing. TV is nice size, no more carpeting is great. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Also a nice safe area, walking around area no problem, some restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itslimetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for all the nice comments. Most importantly, I am very happy to know that your overall stay was a positive experience. The constructive responses that we are hearing from valuable guests like yourself, have let us know that the renovations are a success. Please let me know if there is anything that I can do for you the next time you visit our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was nice. We were in one of the newer rooms that had wood floors. The only thing that was a problem was the lack of a coffee maker in the room. Not a big coffee drinker but like the option. Probably would not stay here again just for the fact of the distance from Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghosthunter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

It is always great and encouraging to read positive reviews from our guests, thank you so much for that. I am very happy that you enjoyed our new remodeled rooms and that your stay was a positive one. I wanted to let you know that we have what we call “Superior King” rooms in which we feature extra amenities such as: coffee maker, iron, iron board, hairdryer. Feel free to contact me any time prior your arrival so I can help making sure that we provide the room type that will fulfill your expectations. Also; If our hotel is too far from the place that you need to be, I can help you locating a sister property that may be a better distance from Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Chicago Lombard
10.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Chicago Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Address: 1113 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1057
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range: $49 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing