We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Bettendorf, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I loved this hotel. It was clean, seemed newish, and our room was an adequate size -- not huge, but not small either. The bedspreads were just coverlets, with white clean sheets. It seemed well taken care of. The hotel was located among many fine restaurants and shops, just down the street (several miles, about 5?) from the Oak Brook shopping center. It was also near a Costco, a Trader Joe's and the Great Outdoors. Though we didn't make it there this time, it was also near an IKEA. I like staying in this area in that you get all the benefits of the city without the horrible traffic. Not that the traffic isn't congested, but it's not nearly as bad as Lake Shore drive can be!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — breakfast was just okay (weekend morning)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BettyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    45
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
57
24
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband is from Downers Grove (or "Downers Grave", as he calls it) and we stay here at least once or twice a year when we visit.

I have no complaints. I think it's a great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, quiet, etc...

No, it's not the Four Seasons... but well worth the $100/night.

I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, quiet, and affordable
  • Disliked — Nothing really stands out. The hotel didn't blow me away, but is fine for what it is.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gilgongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illniois
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We booked the meeting/banquet room at this hotel for a 50th birthday party. We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We were so very pleased. The staff are exceptional--so friendly, patient, accommodating, and professional. The hotel is warm and inviting, clean, and the rooms are nice. The staff went above and beyond in assisting us in the booking of the banquet room, answering all of our questions, helping with the room set-up and clean-up. The breakfast bar is wonderful and really has it all. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area and to anyone needing a meeting or banquet room. You won't be sorry.

  • Liked — Room was clean - great breakfast bar
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyIllniois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2006

This is advertised as new rooms but the room we stayed in was not a new one. We have stayed in new Holiday Inn's and the rooms are not this small. The bathroom was small. For the most part the room was clean...but could smell a musty or cig.smoke smell...we were in a non smoking room. The bed was not comfortable...they really need to put more pillows or bigger pillows on these King size beds. The price was cheaper than what we had expected...maybe they gave us the wrong room!!!
We would only stay here again if we had to otherwise we will go to a newer place.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 31, 2003

It is one of the worst hotels we have ever seen. Dirty, bad service, computer at the front desk assigns rooms that are already occupied. The only thing which is Ok is breakfast. Stay away.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#4 of 7 in Downers Grove
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Address: 3031 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downers Grove/Oakbrook Hotel is conveniently located near Chicago IL in the western suburbs and is accessible to all major expressways I-209, I-88 and right in between Midway International Airport and O Hare International Airport on the corner of I-355 and Butterfield Rd. We are surrounded by the communities of Oakbrook, Lombard, Lisle, Darien, Wheaton and Glen Ellyn. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will appreciate our central location near Best Buy, Coca-Cola, Sara Lee, Troxler Electronic Laboratories, Home Depot, Sodexo, Dale Carnegie, Microsoft, Good Samaritan Hospital, Tivoli Theater, Darien Sports Complex, Morton Arboretum, Brookfield Zoo and more! Shopping and restaurants are also within a short walking distance. This Downers Grove hotel offers all the comforts of home with our 121 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Relax in your cozy deluxe room after a long day and we will provide you with amenities including complimentary high speed internet access, an in room coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, iron and full sized ironing board and more. We also offer a 24 hour fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting space for up to 80 people. In the morning we will have your mouth watering at our complimentary Express Hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Holiday Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing