We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-par for Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sub-par for Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed two nights. There was previous occupants trash under the bed skirt, the AC was very loud and rattled when it turned on and ran. The exercise room was not stocked with towels and treadmills were needing service. The breakfast service was lacking variety in options and at 7 am, already ran out of milk. There was an industrial size air freshner hooked to the AC unit which made the room smell like a truckers restroom. Pillows and beds were sub-standard.
Certainly not what I have come to expect at a HIE. Although I want to get my points, my next visit to this area will be with a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobtKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! It is very important to me to always get guest feedback, whether it be good or bad. We pride ourselves on having clean rooms and I am very sad to hear that we have disappointed you in both room cleanliness and condition. I have addressed all of your concerns with the appropriate staff members and we are all working to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

I would love the opportunity to prove to you that we are much better than what you have experienced. If you contact me directly I would love to have you back to the hotel the next time you are in the area. Thank you again for your feedback and happy travels to you!

Regards,
Katie Dinkens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    47
    31
    14
    10
See reviews for
58
25
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Terrible. It is like staying in a scam hotel where the employees & their friends watch you from holes in the wall or from the boiler room access area. Be prepared to be stolen from and violated. This hotel has no privacy when it comes to being alone in your room.

Room Tip: If you look like a loving couple or interesting beware to be spyed on by holes from ceiling/everywhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genesis805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Genesis805,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, FL
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We needed a hotel that was relatively close to Midway airport near Chicago for our Sunday morning flight. We decided on the Holiday Inn Express in Downers Grove. It was about a 20 minute drive to the airport. The hotel is located in a good area, with shopping and restaurants very close. There is a Red Lobster right next door and several other restaurants just across the street. The rooms were nice, clean and quiet, even though the hotel is on a main road. I liked the fact that the rooms had balconies, not many hotels do anymore. The lobby is large, but welcoming. It is "separated" from the front desk with a low wall, which gives it a cozy feeling. There are two computers/printers for guest to use, as well as free wi-fi in the rooms. They offer free continental breakfast and the breakfast area is large enough to accommodate guest without feeling crowded. Add friendly staff to the mixture and you have a hotel that we would stay in again if we are ever in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonflymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am super excited to hear that you had a good experience while staying with us. We do have a convenient location with TONS of great restaurants very nearby! We look forward to having you again in the future!

Happy Travels!
Katie Dinkens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

For the Chicago suburbs...the price was right. The room was a little dated...glad we brought our own pillows. Stayed 3 nights and gave us an opportunity to explore the area I grew up in (Downers Grove and Chicago). The room was clean and the breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express. The desk clerk was absolutely clueless about anything and could not assist in booking reservations down the road. Not priority club service. The business center computers (two) were accessible...printer was poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are often in the Chicago western suburbs for an overnight. This was our first stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean and comfortable, large with a king size bed, small sofa and desk. Decent breakfast included featuring make-your-own-pancakes which we had never seen. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Why is it that hotels seem to love to install overly complicated showers? It doesn't need to be that difficult. On/off, hot/cold -- how hard is that? After 10 minutes of fiddling, I noticed (after putting my glasses back on) that you needed to not only turn the dial, put pull it out to get any water pressure. Frustrating. Other than that, no complaints. Hot breakfast was laid out in a very appealing way. Booked for $49 via Priceline. Red Lobster (yuck) and Fuddruckers (double yuck) are on either side of the hotel. Beyond Fuddruckers is the Rockwood Tap and Grill which I visited and enjoyed. Do like me: stay away from chain restaurants when you travel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marblehead750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Great hotel to stay when coming to the area. I travel to this location about 4 times a year and I will not stay anywhere else. It is not only my only choice but it really is the "ONLY" choice. I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertO724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#4 of 7 in Downers Grove
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Address: 3031 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downers Grove/Oakbrook Hotel is conveniently located near Chicago IL in the western suburbs and is accessible to all major expressways I-209, I-88 and right in between Midway International Airport and O Hare International Airport on the corner of I-355 and Butterfield Rd. We are surrounded by the communities of Oakbrook, Lombard, Lisle, Darien, Wheaton and Glen Ellyn. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will appreciate our central location near Best Buy, Coca-Cola, Sara Lee, Troxler Electronic Laboratories, Home Depot, Sodexo, Dale Carnegie, Microsoft, Good Samaritan Hospital, Tivoli Theater, Darien Sports Complex, Morton Arboretum, Brookfield Zoo and more! Shopping and restaurants are also within a short walking distance. This Downers Grove hotel offers all the comforts of home with our 121 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Relax in your cozy deluxe room after a long day and we will provide you with amenities including complimentary high speed internet access, an in room coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, iron and full sized ironing board and more. We also offer a 24 hour fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting space for up to 80 people. In the morning we will have your mouth watering at our complimentary Express Hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Holiday Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing