We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2005

Have stayed at the Marriott Suites 3 times now since Dec 2004 for family weekends in Chicago.

Highlights:
- Lucy at the front desk is great!
- Rooms were sort of remolded in 2005. New beds, carpets.
- Great beds
- Breakfast in very good if you get it for free. Get Stay for Breakfast rate.
- Indoor/Outdoor pool is a lot of fun. My kids love it.
- Two room suites are a good size. Smaller than a Embassy Suites room.
- Hotel is very quite when compared to an atruim Embassy Suites.
- Easy drive to Chicago.
- Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. Portillo's for hot dogs is great and my wife loves the Nordstrom's Rack nearby.
- Maids are great. Very Clean
- Free parking
- $89 rate with breakfast & $100 bonus buck is fantastic.

Not so Good Stuff:
- Bathrooms need remodeling. Chipped counters, kind of 80's looking.
- Not enough towels at the pool.
- Store not well stocked.
- Have to drive and park in Chicago. Not near a train station either.
- One front desk clerk was not so nice. Gave us hard time on using Marriott Bonus Bucks for stay and getting a Bonus Buck for the stay. Ask for Lucy.
- Sides of pool were dirty. Dirty glasses and dishes at pool all day.

Would stay there again, if good rates are available.

4  Thank gw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 352 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, Illinois
12
Reviewed June 5, 2005

Rooms are wonderfully spacious and extremely clean.

The bed: Wow.......down duvet cover, mattress cover, pillows.......felt like a King. Not what you usually get in a hotel!!


Bathroom was marble and spacious.

No complaints. Super nice Lounge and Dining.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, WO
17
Reviewed January 15, 2005

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas break 2004. While the staff were very nice, the physical condition of the property could have been better. This hotel needs a facelift, everywhere from the rooms to the lobby. One positive that the elevators are very fast; no waiting here! After the first night at the hotel, our entire family had to take cold showers due to the abscense of hot water. After we came back from dinner that night, water was pouring from a recessed light in the ceiling in the lobby. We went to our room on the 7th floor, and found the problem. A hot water pipe had broken in the hallway, and water was running through the floors, all the way from the 7th down to the lobby. Many service personnel and plumbers made a lot of noise that night outside of our room, apparently trying to fix the problem. Didn't sleep more than 4 hours that night. Next morning; cold showers again, still hadn't fixed the hot water problem. I don't think we'll be returning to this property in the future.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2004

Stayed here in April, 2004.
Beautiful hotel. Typical Marriott wonderful service, staff, hotel, food, blah, blah, blah.........

Rooms are wonderfully spacious and extremely clean.

The bed: Wow.......down duvet cover, mattress cover, pillows.......felt like a princess. Not what you usually get in a hotel!!
Oh and a bathrobe too!

Bathroom was marble and spacious.

No complaints.
No recommendations for this hotel.
It was simply wonderful and well worth the $$.

4  Thank ElleTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
13
Reviewed January 13, 2003

Check-in was very smooth with a pleasant smile from the front desk attendant. Once in my room I was surprized to see the multiple pillow with difffernt firmness, marble bath that was clean and a modem on the wood desk for dial up or eathernet service. Room service was average and the food was so-so. I would stay again at the property.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank Talita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank puluamsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove

Address: 1500 Opus Pl, Downers Grove, IL 60515-5719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range: $98 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the modern style of the newly renovated Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove. From artwork and lighting to work space that works for you, our guest rooms have been redesigned to be stylish, intuitive and smart. A top choice among hotels in Downers Grove, IL, Marriott suites exceeds guests' expectations with a blend of comfort and convenience in a boutique-like setting. Every Downers Grove hotel suite features contemporary design touches, large private bedrooms, spacious living areas, microwaves and mini-fridges. Take a dip in our heated indoor and outdoor pools, or work up a sweat in our 1,000 sq. ft. fitness center. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, our location is in the heart of the East-West corridor between Interstates 88 and 355 and offers easy access to popular attractions like the Brookfield Zoo, Morton Arboretum, or Oak Brook Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Marriott Downers Grove
Downers Grove Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing