We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first thing that comes to mind is Swanky.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed here for roughly 2 weeks for business. Walking the area around the hotel entrance you get a serene feeling from all the plants & trees. They take you away from the bustling business buildings that surround the property. The main floor gives you a glimpse of what you'll see throughout the hotel, comfortable elegance. The rooms are well kept, clean & the housekeeping staff go out of their way to make your room comfortable for you with every service. Don't miss grabbing a complimentary cup of their ice water flavored with fresh fruit in the lobby. I'd stay here again & recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fyre926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about our wonderful hotel. Enjoy, thank you for spending your two weeks with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 352 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

We like Marriott hotels overall, and use them a lot. We are Gold Elite members. But when we reserved a two-bedroom suite with two queens, that is what we expected. We reserved that specific room-type for a reason. But what they gave us was a two-room suite; one bedroom, and one living room with a Murphy bed. NOT the same thing.

The room was modern and very clean. I really appreciate a clean hotel room!

The staff at the front desk was one of the friendliest I've ever dealt with. Thank you for that.

We spent six nights in five different Marriott hotels, and this was the only one that didn't include a free breakfast for the four of us. Not sure why.

Mattress was not the most comfortable. It had a dip in the middle, so you felt like you were rolling downhill toward the other person.

Would stay here again, but would call the hotel directly to make sure we got the rooms we requested.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motown-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much for noting our friendly staff as well as the cleanliness of our hotel. Our sincere apologies for the confusion about the type of room that you were provided. Our hotel is in the full service tier of Marriott Hotels and we are also a step up as we do offer suites to our guests and as result we do not offer a complimentary breakfast for all of our guests. Thank you again for your fabulous loyalty to Marriott Hotels and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great rates for weekend stay in late June 2014. Good service. Very quiet. Large clean suite with comfortable king bed. Relatively nice furniture but stained couch and floor. Nice bathroom, with microwave and small fridge. Very helpful front desk staff. 7 out of 10 stars for Marriotts. Couple blocks off I-355 in Business Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skypond3041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for your business. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable, safe. A nice place to stay. Two reasons I give 4/5 are pool temperature and price of vending. The indoor/outdoor pool was nice, but cloudy and pretty cool. On a hot day, it probably would be fine, but it was almost uncomfortable on the cloudy day we were there. Bring your own snacks and refreshments. They know they have a captive audience and they make every effort to rip you off on snacks and drinks. The room was great. The breakfast was outstanding...Snipes is a fantastic waiter!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Thank yo for your review of our hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities during your stay. Sorry that it was a little cloudy and cool to enjoy the pool. We hope to have you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This place rates well on all the attributes that one would normally be looking for. The room was spacious, exceptionally clean, very nicely appointed, quiet and with a very comfortable bed. The common areas are again very well appointed and very clean. Staff was almost unbelievably friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located within a very short distance of two major expressways and is also very close to a major shopping center, Yorktown. Dining options are abundant and convenient.
Bottom line, this is a place that I would highly recommend and will be returning to in the future.
Cudos to staff and management for a job well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much for noting so many wonderful highlights at our hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff went above and beyond their usual outstanding, friendly helpfulness in making this reunion of vietnam vets a special event for all of us . Not once did we experience any glitches in our stay and everyone from the front desk, the wait staff to the bartenders were friendly, warm and accommodating. I firmly believe, in an industry with continuous turnover, that the testament to the management of this Marriott is that the staff here have been long time employees which adds to the feeling of family for those who stay here often.

The suites are comfy with plush bedding, good natural light, accessible outlets (a pet peeve of mine) good bath amenities, refrigerators with freezers and a microwave add to the convenience and homeyness .

NOTE: The hair dryer is in a bag hanging in the closet. A reference to one of the ladies with us who could not find it.

If there was a minus to anything would be no free wifi in the rooms.

Kudos to the staff, the management and the people who made this a special weekend.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were excellent but the view from the upper floors was better of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much for you wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We got a great rate on rooms Saturday night. This hotel provided us a suite with a separate living area king-size beds beautiful linens clean, updated, fresh well-run.

The hotel was quiet and we slept great. We could afford to each have our own room which is a big plus! The only downside I can think of is there wasn't anywhere to really exercise outside as we were in the business park.
We had family nearby so were able to get rides but it is really in the middle of nowhere if you're trying to be local to downtown Chicago. You definitely would need a car!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank misseswissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for you review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Getting a great night's sleep is very important, so I am pleased to hear that you rested well. Yes, we are a distance from downtown, however with the nearby Metra train station and our courtesy shuttle to the station, you can make it into downtown in a short amount of time. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove

Address: 1500 Opus Pl, Downers Grove, IL 60515-5719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range: $98 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the modern style of the newly renovated Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove. From artwork and lighting to work space that works for you, our guest rooms have been redesigned to be stylish, intuitive and smart. A top choice among hotels in Downers Grove, IL, Marriott suites exceeds guests' expectations with a blend of comfort and convenience in a boutique-like setting. Every Downers Grove hotel suite features contemporary design touches, large private bedrooms, spacious living areas, microwaves and mini-fridges. Take a dip in our heated indoor and outdoor pools, or work up a sweat in our 1,000 sq. ft. fitness center. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, our location is in the heart of the East-West corridor between Interstates 88 and 355 and offers easy access to popular attractions like the Brookfield Zoo, Morton Arboretum, or Oak Brook Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Marriott Downers Grove
Downers Grove Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing