We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and everything was fabulous! The staff was courteous, helpful and gave us a listing of several restaurants in the area if we were looking for a place to dine. The hotel itself was beautiful and our room was meticulously clean, spacious and comfortable. It was centrally located near many fabulous restaurants and shopping centers. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 348 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night about a week ago.

When I checked in, they told me they were sold out of King beds for the night and asked if it was okay if they put me in a room with two double beds. Clerk seemed to imply they were saving them for people who were staying longer than one night. No big deal - sure. They gave me a free bottle of water for my "trouble" which was a nice touch, perhaps.

In the lobby, they had a water cooler with citrus flavored water and some places to work with outlets.

I got settled in my room which I thought was okay; good-sized room and average decor. I worked for a while at the desk and the Internet speed was fair to slow.

Once I was tired and ready to call it a day, I looked at the two double beds. One was visibly sunken in the middle, significantly. So I figured I'd sleep in the other bed. I pulled back the comforter/top sheet to discover the fitted sheet was so thread-bare, it was see-through. And I could see black "marks" through the fitted sheet. So I pulled it back to discover a type of mattress pad underneath with a bunch of, for lack of a better word, small black/brown fur stuck to it.

Normally I would have asked for another room at this point, but I was unpacked, completely ready for bed and unsure if they would have anything else. So I took the comforter off the other bed and slept between the two comforters i.e. like a sandwich.

Breakfast was decent, but as per Marriott usual, expensive.

So I'll pass on returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatLakez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We're sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasureable experience at our hotel. We certainly will look into the things mentioned and will correct anything that needs to be corrected right away. As always, we appreciate your business and appreciate your feedback. We will work to meet all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having a number of meetings in the area over a few I decided to book into the Marriott for two nights. The rooms were big, clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Although we had client dinners in the evenings, the breakfast was very good.

Importantly, the rooms were very, very quiet which is good considering the overall location (which is great) is quite busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business travel needs. We sincerely appreciate the business and hope to host you again in the future. If there are any future meeting opportunities that we can assist you with, please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Facility and personnel were very accommodating to our family reunion overall experience was excellent.
Children and adults alike thoroughly enjoyed the property. The restaurant offered a broad menu. The Sunday Brunch was also an excellent experience.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so much for bringing your family to our hotel for your family reunion. Family reunions are such memorable events and we are excited that we met you and your family's needs. If you would like to return to our hotel for a future family reunion, or for any other reason, give us a call and we would be happy to host you brilliantly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

we booked 3 rooms & were able to get all 3 together. rooms were 100% soundproof, all have sleeper sofa for 2, luxurious bedding, & 2 flat screen tvs with French doors separating the bedroom. it's so private that you can't hear anyone else, unless you open your door! business rooms have a huge desk, fabulous chair, microwave, & frig with a freezer. regular rooms have the frig without the microwave & a table with chairs for 2. elevators are fast. there's a personal shuttle to nearby area. it has the nicest gym and an indoor hot tub. the heated pool is both indoor & outdoor during summer, with a lovely deck. in winter, they close the gate & outdoor area. there were always plenty of towels. service was excellent. the computer that dispenses room keys was having down times while we were there. they ran to your rooms letting you in & bringing a working key back to your room as soon as it was back online. we were very IMPRESSED! the only bad thing is the price of their breakfast, so we ate in our room or went out to eat. (continental drink, fruit, pastry $12 or a hot breakfast for $16pp). there are tons of eateries due to closeness to Oakbrook mall & York mall. they have both shady open parking & a covered parking garage for those who prefer it. we got a great discount rate & will stay here again. it's located at I-355 and I-88. it's near Brookfield zoo, 20+ minutes to downtown Chicago, 10+ minutes to Schaumburg Mall. Surrounding cities include Lisle, Glenn Ellyn, Oakbrook Terrace, & Downer's Grove. you're in the MIDDLE of a shopper's paradise , if you have a car!

Room Tip: the rooms are so well insulated, you won't hear anything. so all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambodogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for the kind words on or hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again in the future. We hope you enjoyed your shopping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this property for 2 nights the past weekend. The location is pretty good (right in the center of the suburbs), with shopping close by. Check-in was smooth; staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (comped due to my Gold status) was very good (cooked-to-order omelet, among other things).

The room is on the small side (quite crampy). We needed the door to separate our two young children during bedtime, but the door which separates the living area from the bedroom is very thin, not really doing what it's supposed to do.

Overall, a nice hotel! And I would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. As a Gold member, your loyalty to our hotels is very important. We appreciate your business and feedback. We will share your feedback for future renovation plans. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I work often in Downers Grove and have stayed at this hotel for 99% of my trips to the area. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is clean and modern. And the location is perfect for excursions in and around the DG area.

My only obstacle from giving the hotel 5 stars is the food. The bar and lounge are great and the bartenders are friendly, and surprisingly good at remembering regular guests. The food is mostly good - good enough to tide you over on nights when going to another restaurant isn't practical. But its pricey, sometimes headscratchingly so. And as a result expectations might be overly elevated.

Again, I can't say enough about the staff. Friendly, patient, and the epitome of great customer service. I would never think of staying anywhere else in DG.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephcouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you staying with us for your trips to our area! We appreciate the repeat business. We will share your feedback with our management team. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
3.9 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove

Address: 1500 Opus Pl, Downers Grove, IL 60515-5719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range: $96 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the modern style of the newly renovated Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove. From artwork and lighting to work space that works for you, our guest rooms have been redesigned to be stylish, intuitive and smart. A top choice among hotels in Downers Grove, IL, Marriott suites exceeds guests' expectations with a blend of comfort and convenience in a boutique-like setting. Every Downers Grove hotel suite features contemporary design touches, large private bedrooms, spacious living areas, microwaves and mini-fridges. Take a dip in our heated indoor and outdoor pools, or work up a sweat in our 1,000 sq. ft. fitness center. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, our location is in the heart of the East-West corridor between Interstates 88 and 355 and offers easy access to popular attractions like the Brookfield Zoo, Morton Arboretum, or Oak Brook Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Marriott Downers Grove
Downers Grove Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing