We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sybaris Downers Grove
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A great time was had by all, excellent facility, great staff, amazing room!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

my husband and I have 6 children.for a long time we where never able to afford a vacation .After being together for 32 years .The kids where finally grown. we finally where able to getaway for a weekend.I was told about the Sybris by a friend and planned a trip to your meqoun location . all we can say is HEAVENLY .We had time to get to know each other all over again .This has been the best anniversary I have ever had .Icried when it was time to leave .I truly had never experienced such a relaxing place the $500.00+ that I spent was well worht it .If I could afford it I would do it yearly. I have told so many people about my experience .

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heavenlytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Just stayed here a few nights ago with my husband on a romantic getaway. We've never stayed at a place like this before and it was a wonderful escape for us. A place to just shut out the world and spend time together as a couple. The rooms each have a private entry and all the amenities you will need for an overnight stay.

As we arrived, I was a little put off at the location and the exterior. It just didn't look very nice and was on a main road with a lot of traffic. This is one of several locations they have and it is my understanding that it is the original location. They really could stand to update the outside and make it a little more inviting. Because this location was originally an old fashioned drive up motel, you initially get the feeling of "one of those places" as you pull in. Perhaps some landscaping or flower pots might help in this area?

BUT when we walked into our room, all of those thoughts went away as the room is wonderful. It is private and despite being right on a main road, we never heard any noises from outside.

We stayed in the majestic swimming pool suite which is 2 stories with a pool, steamroom and fireplace on the main level. Then upstairs (completely closed off from the pool area) is your private bedroom area. There is a large bed which I'm sure is bigger than a king. A huge jacuzzi, massage chair, a bar/lounge area and a private bathroom. There are mirrors everywhere. Very unique.

Keep in mind this is a getaway location for adults only and is designed especially for romantic getaways and where couples go to have adult time. There are sexual undertones starting at the check-in office. This is absolutely not a place you take your kids to play in a pool!

There is plenty of refrigerator space so you can bring your own drinks, food, etc. They provide plush robes to wear and there are plenty of towels.

Nearby are many restaurants. You might want to stop by and pick up take-out because once you're in your room, you won't want to leave.

Check in isn't until 6pm which is late considering you're paying quite a bit for a room like this. We paid $329 for the majestic on a weeknight. We feel it was worth it since we don't do things like this very often. When you check out, they give you a coupon for a reduced rate on your next visit. We will definitely being going back . However, we will probably try a different location on our return trip just because the other locations shown on their website look much more inviting.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wife2Table45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

First off. This is not a place for families or children. This is a place you go as a couple to get away and have "adult time". To say the least, there are strong sexual undertones throughout the facility. We went there for this type of get-away. We stayed in the "majestic pool suite". It was 2 stories with a swimming pool, steam room, fireplace and bar area down stairs. Upstairs had, bed, big jacuzzi, massage chair, bar area and bathroom. Mirrors everywhere, custom lighting, etc. The location is not secluded. It's on a main road. The exterior needed some updates but the room was nice and was what we expected. The rooms do have a very private feel. The pool (approx 20x10) was awesome. The jacuzzi was big. We would do this again, maybe try a different location next time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank table45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Sybaris was an AMAZING experience! I will definitely go back if I have the time & money. Their website has deals available - I saved 80 dollars off the night! The staff was friendly and discreet, each room is in its own separate private building with its own private entrance. Don't forget to bring your own music to take advantage of their nice sound system. Many switches and knobs throughout the room to customize the lighting and set a specific mood. Free adult channels on television! Bring your own wine, theirs is expensive. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank glitteringinsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We've been to the Sybaris in Downers Grove 2 times.. 1st time to the Deluxe Whirlpool suite & the 2nd time to the Pool Suite & both times we had a super wonderful time. Hotel personal are really really nice, you have your own private entrance to your suite, beautiful rooms & great location.
If your looking for a romantic getaway this is the place. :)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrisf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago,il usa
18
Reviewed February 18, 2006

This place is like WOW!!! We didn't get the biggest room but the one I had was still wonderful. This is the perfect place to get your freak on!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
107 reviews
5.6 mi away
Champagne Lodge and Luxury Suites
1.8 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sybaris Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Downers Grove

Address: 600 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL 60515-2940
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Downers Grove
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Downers Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Downers Grove is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sybaris Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Sybaris Inn
Sybaris Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing