We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Chama Gaucha Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Chama Gaucha Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 169 Restaurants in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Butterfield
Description: Chama Gaucha invites you to come and have a taste of southern Brazil... Featuring 12 different cuts of meat from lamb, chicken, pork and beef served to you table side upon your request. Also offering an exquisite salad bar with over 30 items, from fresh vegetables, to house made salads, and gourmet cheeses. Along with your meal are traditional Brazilian side dishes. Our famous Brazilian cheese bread, garlic mash pototoes, fried banana, fried polenta, white rice, and black beans. All served to your hearts content. Come visit us and have a taste of southern Brazil!
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The best!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This is by far one of the best places to eat at that I have ever been to. This place is superior to steakhouses that I've been to in Rio and other parts of Brazil! I've been here twice and each experience has been phenomenal. The staff here is fantastic and very caring about your experience. Take your time, enjoy the experience and all of the wonderful food. Be sure to have a caipirinha with all of the meat :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    63
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brown Deer, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A class by itself”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have never had this excellent service. We were walk in with no reservations. To start they help both of us with our coats. They explain how there restaurant operated, made suggestions.
To start the have 29 items on there salad bar, you can go back as many timed as you desire, loved
All there red peppers and all other items I had.
Then when ready they had 15 different samples of meats, example Lamb, lamb chops, beef, pork ribs , chicken legs, and so on. You can have as much meat as you want and how you want it cooked. Love the way handle there coffee, as filled to your liking. The manager came to the table several times asking various question on service and food. This ranks number one in my restaurant dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 73michael2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Awesome meal, great service.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First time at this resturant, I went there at lunch with my wife, it was busy but even so the service was outstanding. The food was very good from the salad bar to the meats. nothing was bad.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itravelalot2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went as a party of 8 on a Friday afternoon for lunch. I was told that the lunch and dinner menu is the same. Lunch is much cheaper. The salad bar was awesome. The service was as good as I have EVER seen. Some places have dedicated Waiters. Not so here. They hop from table to table. You never go more than 2 or 3 minutes before being offered something. Any meat, served the way you like it. When they come around, you accept it or decline it. You can ask for any specific cut at any time. Great dinner rolls as well. Stay hungry my Friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunza37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chama Wow-cha!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Having experienced other Brazilian steakhouse in the past, I can honestly say that Chama Gaucha ranks way up there. The quality of service and attention you get from the staff is second to none. Very attentive and pampers you: they pull out the chairs and sit you down, assist you with your coat, etc.
The quality of their meat is fresh, tender, seasoned to perfection and served to you just the way you like it. The salad bar offers cold cuts, fresh veggies and a variety of cheese.
Their house specialty is the Picanha which is a definite must have and also the chicken wrapped with bacon is juicy and delightful. But this is an all you can eat "meatfest" so sample as much cuts of meat and enjoy.
They aim to please, and they certainly delivered. Looking forward to going back!

Helpful?
Thank Lsyambot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chama Gaucha Steakhouse also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
Lombard, DuPage County
 
Oakbrook Terrace, DuPage County
Oakbrook Terrace, DuPage County
 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 

Been to Chama Gaucha Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing