We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest marks all the way”
Review of Galena Steak House

Galena Steak House
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Dixon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milledgeville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Highest marks all the way”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is an awesome little steak house! We loved the atmosphere, we loved the friendly service, and the food was absolutely fabulous. My son was visiting from San Fransisco, and the food there is pretty hard to beat. He said the salmon was the best he'd ever had! We are from Chicago; also hard to beat, but we agreed. We don't live too far (now), so we'll be going back for sure. Don't miss it, if you find yourself in Dixon! Excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NadjaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at Galena Steak House numerous times over the years when we have been in Dixon. The food is always good. The service is on spot and the owner is always interested in how our dining experience was. We will be back whenever we are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good no matter what time of day you go!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The have a nice salad bar and great food choices for lunch and dinner!!!! Service is goond and prices are average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USA-ILLINOIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food-nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

For a good meal whether it is lunch of soup and a sandwich or evening meal of a great steak, chicken, just to name a couple of items, this is a really nice place to have a meal. The soup and salad bar is excellent and the desserts are out of this world! For locals, it's a special place to meet friends or take family for that "special" dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catstheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great family dinner choice!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Whether you dine in or carry out, the food is great! Huge variety from ribs to chix strips! The best salad bar in town! Great brunches! They cater to all ages! Comfortable, yet cozy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 833Christine_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galena Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing