We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galena Steak House

Galena Steak House
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Dixon
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at Galena Steak House numerous times over the years when we have been in Dixon. The food is always good. The service is on spot and the owner is always interested in how our dining experience was. We will be back whenever we are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good no matter what time of day you go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The have a nice salad bar and great food choices for lunch and dinner!!!! Service is goond and prices are average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USA-ILLINOIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food-nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

For a good meal whether it is lunch of soup and a sandwich or evening meal of a great steak, chicken, just to name a couple of items, this is a really nice place to have a meal. The soup and salad bar is excellent and the desserts are out of this world! For locals, it's a special place to meet friends or take family for that "special" dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catstheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family dinner choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Whether you dine in or carry out, the food is great! Huge variety from ribs to chix strips! The best salad bar in town! Great brunches! They cater to all ages! Comfortable, yet cozy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 833Christine_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better luck next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited this establishment last Friday evening, I was not impressed with the atmosphere, it seemed somewhat chaotic and unorganized. Our waitress was not very attentive, i found the hostess to be somewhat rude, I ordered the chicken strips, they were bland, no flavor at all, and tough, my husband ordered the " all you can eat" so called " walleye", however it was not walleye! I am unsure what it was but I do know what it was not! When we asked the waitress she said it was walleye, though she did hesitate! The salad bar was quit messy and needed some attention! The quality was just not what one would expect for a "steak house". However the do charge the prices one would expect at a steak house!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galena Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing