We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Basil Tree Ristorante
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Dixon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Davis, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Last night we ate there and it was amazing. I had the paesano sauce with fettuccini and it was one best meals ever. My husband had chicken franchese and my daughter had spaghetti Bolognese. All were very good but the paesano was the best. Excellent service and atmosphere. What a treat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    32
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I met a friend in Dixon yesterday for lunch and was very pleasantly surprised by the Basil Tree Ristorante. We shared the bruschetta, which was fresh and tasty, and also had a dinner salad and manicotti. The salad dressing was fantastic! The manicotti also had a great taste. Our waiter was very attentive and the dining room was very nice. I would definitely return! Free parking too! :-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmw133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I recently attended a rehearsal dinner in the lower level banquet room. The food was great and the servers were fast and friendly. I can't wait to take my parents here when they come home from TN.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixon61021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and atmosphere! Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stopped on way from Iowa to Chicago. What a wonderful surprise! Hidden gem! Delicious food especially the creme brulee for dessert. Worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traceehirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the 104 Mile Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had the chance to visit Dixon, Illinois mid-week to see some of tourist attractions. While I was down by the river I asked a fisherman where was a good place to eat and he recommended Basil Tree Ristorante. He couldn't remember the name of the place, but he said : "Its up the heel" (hill).

I decided to try it out.

The building is ancient and has had many tenants an businesses throughout its life. Entrance is through a beautiful hardwood door. The atmosphere is very dim inside. Too dark to get a decent picture without using the flash. The interior decor looks fabulous. I didn't hear any piped in music playing the night I dined here.

The night I was there, there were two waiters and one waitress working.

I ordered a 7/7, Minestrone Soup, Steak and potato. A bread basket was also brought out. I had the Tiramisu (cake) for desert.

The bread was fresh and served hot.
The drink wasn't too strong, but not to weak either...just right.
The soup was good and served piping hot.
The NY Steak I ordered medium well and it was prepared to my liking, and it tasted out of this world. Very soft & tender and juicy. It was seasoned just right.

It is without a doubt the second best steak I've ever eaten.

The desert was very tastey..

Service was good, and the portions were not rushed out of the kitchen. Overall I think I was there about 75 minutes, perhaps? My bill came to around $42.00

There is no parking lot, but there is plenty of (free -no meters) street parking to be had.

I would definately eat here again If I am ever in Dixon or passing by on I-88.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Tree Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Basil Tree Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing