We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We arrived without reservations and were promptly checked in by very friendly staff. We were able to enjoy dinner at the small bistro in the lobby. Our room was clean and comfortable.When our TV in our room was not working someone came to fix it withing 5 minutes! If we are in the area again we will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bistromomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor Review of your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We were thrilled to read that your experience with us was a positive one. We look forward to accommodating you again on your next visit to the area.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott!
Best regards,
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We needed to spend the night before continuing our international travel. It was a great place to stay and relax in transition. This is a quite new Courtyard property so if you travel much with Marriott, it will look and feel familiar. The rooms were very quiet and nice, with comfortable beds and bath. When traveling with my wife, we liked having a separate sink and toilet/shower area so that was appreciated too. This is one of their newer layouts with a Starbuck coffee house and grill area instead of the restaurant and breakfast buffet. That helped in getting a quick start in the morning, and it was a nice gathering area in the evening.

There is not much to do in the area (unless you like to gamble at the next door casino) so you are kind of stuck out there in the hinterland. It is not really close to the airport but took us about 10-15 minutes to get there on the shuttle. But very nice shuttle drivers in the evening and morning. Good staff at the desk too if you have any questions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Casino and an upper floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank orth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Traveler,
It's always great to receive reviews from TripAdvisor's "Top Contributors", we certainly appreciate you and your family staying with us and for sharing your experience with our other TripAdvisor Travelers.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Chicago O'Hare area.
Respectfully,
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stay at O'Hare airport hotels very frequently. I usually stay at the Marriott Suites or Intercontinental. With most airport properties, becasue of the volume of guests that go through there, they are usually run down, not always very clean, & noisy, particulalry mid places, ie: 3 stars. that is why I stay at higher end places when not too expensive.
This was a last minute stay for me & all hotels were very expensive so I decided to give this courtyard a try. Well this is going to be my new go to place at O'Hare, what a pleasent surprise! The place has been recently renovated I guess because it looked brand new. The room was very spacious, very clean, again, new - carpet wasn't worn out full of stains, bed spread and sheets were new, bathroom clean, good shower head, desk, etc. Perfect! Free parking, at the airport?? Where in the world do you get that. I had a great night sleep & they have a bistro type restaurant off the lobby. I had a quick breakfast, Juice, Starbuck's coffee, Yugurt & toast for under $10. Staff was great and you know right away that whomever manages this place is very dedicated and detail oriented. Thank you for a great stay, albeit just for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Richard B,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor Review regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare and for making us your "New Go To Hotel" in the O'Hare area. We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Thank you for choosing Marriott!
All the best
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our airline comped us two rooms for our family when they would not allow us to board our flight- I think they gave our seats up to standbys. Needless to say we were not too happy. They provided us with rooms here and free dinner to boot at the Courtyard. Once we arrived our moods improved.The hotel was clean and modern and everyone was very friendly. The food was okay (we had salads) for a hotel deli. If we were in the area again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Jenny R,
Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor Review. We certainly hope you and your family made it safely to your destination.
Thank you again fo staying with us and for choosing Marriott!
Best regards
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Courtyard be Marriot

The Courtyard by Marriot has just become our new park and fly hotel. We have stayed many times in Chicago and always insisted on the same hotel for our park and fly because we thought it was the the best value for the money. This year they had a major price increase so we decided to try the Courtyard. Needless to say we were pleasantly surprised. It is extremely easy to find. Exit right off the 294 tollway, one turn and 2 blocks later you are there.
The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient upon check-in. The room had a very modern feel with a large flat screen TV. The courtyard is what sets this place apart. It can only be accessed from the lobby or with a room key as it is completely enclosed by the hotel itself. In it there a several tables with chairs and several lounges that are situated in a shady patio just outside the pool. There is also a separate area that has a firepit and four stand-up propane heaters and of course more lounges and chairs. This is where my wife and I had dinner. There is a mixture of sunny and shady areas and the lawn looked as though it had just had a manicure. The shade is provided by several large pine trees and several of them get lit up at night.
It is located just blocks away from several great places to eat and is right next door to the new casino. If you would rather stay in and eat, the front desk can recommend several places that will deliver. We found this out when we stayed the night after returning from our vacation and we did not get back to the hotel until about 11:30 p.m. Adam, from the front desk gave us three brochures from different places that would deliver since most places had quit serving by then. He even went as far as to tell us what each place specialized in. We chose the pasta and Adam was dead-on. The food was great.
If you are doing the park and fly, the shuttle runs every half hour and you can even print your boarding pass right in the lobby before ever leaving the hotel.
All in all, I can say that we have definitely found a new hotel to begin our vacation when leaving out of Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jamerican1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Deat Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TraipAdvisor Review of your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We were thrilled to read that we will now be your "New Park and Fly Hotel" and that our amenities and staff met your expectations. We would also like to say thank you for recognizing Adam, he is truly a great asset to our team and likes to insure all of our guests have everything they need for a memorable experience.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott!
Respectfully,
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I love to stay at the Courtyard Marriott in Des Plaines. It's a good location for either downtown or the suburbs at a reasonable price. It's clean, rooms are nice, the pool is great and the courtyard is a nice place to sit. The staff is very professional and nice. Check in and out was quick and easy. No charge for parking and that beats a lot of local area hotels - a big selling point! The room was fairly quiet even with the planes going directly overhead. The food was good too. The lobby is very inviting and friendly. I can't think of anything negative.

Room Tip: I thought the room I had was pretty quiet, first floor, courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Barb,
Thank you for taking the time to write a TraipAdvisor Review regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare.
We certainly appreciate your positive comments regarding our location, pool, staff and complimentary parking. Your loyalty to our hotel and company is greatly appreciated.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott.
Best regards,
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I booked a night at the Courtyard to avoid additional stress related to driving to O'Hare from across the state. Checked in with my daughter, who was leaving at 3:00 pm and they had a room ready at 10 am! We relaxed in the room, had lunch and rode the free shuttle to O'Hare to Delta's curbside check in. Following her departure I returned to the hotel on the shuttle, relaxed, dined and drove the 2.5 hours back home the following morning. Wish I'd taken my swim suit for what turned out to be a mini-vacation. Another plus: avoiding the parking garage at O'Hare which is not only huge but expensive. Will use this strategy for my daughter's return trip as well.

Room Tip: Small hotel, only five floors. It was a Saturday night and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Sylvia,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Respectfully,
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
0.8 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites O'Hare
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn O'Hare
Comfort Inn O'Hare
#5 of 9 in Des Plaines
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
#4 of 9 in Des Plaines
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago O'Hare

Address: 2950 S River Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60018-4203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range: $122 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago o`Hare Hotel Des Plaines
Courtyard Hotel Des Plaines
Courtyard Des Plaines
Des Plaines Courtyard
Des Plaines Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing