We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not easy to find a spot near the airport that offers free parking. This is a real deal when you have a rental car you are not ready to return. It's minutes from the airport and does have a shuttle if you are without a car. They have food and drinks available now which is nice when getting in late. They also have a well-equipt, though tiny gym. Sometimes in a hotel like this the gym is an afterthought, but to a business traveler it is essential. The equipment was new (or well maintained) and the tvs all worked. As is typical with a Marriott, beds are great and service is wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Erin,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. It was great to read that you found our hotel, service and amenities to be just what you needed while traveling.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Warm regards,
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Definitely a hotel that focuses on business travelers. Close to the airport, clean, but basic like any other Courtyard. The computers to print boarding passes were easily accessible, shuttle seemed frequent. Service was the only area that seemed a little lacking, waited several minutes for the front desk to acknowledge and check my group in and housekeeping had a radio in the cart and then spent about ten minutes as a group chatting outside my door, which made for a little bit of a noisy afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Jenny,
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare.
Please accept my apologies that your check in experience and the hallway chatter from our staff, created an experience that was less than satisfactory. Your comments will be shared with both our Front Office and Housekeeping Teams so that they may all may understand the effects their actions and or lack thereof can have on our guest.
Thank again for choosing Marriott and for your comments. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Chicagoland area.
All the best
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently attended the Chicago Travel and Adventure show at the Stephen’s Center in Rosemont, Illinois. We also had the good fortune to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare hotel.

Our room was very clean and equipped with a Hi-def flat screen TV, iron, ironing board, hair dyer and coffee pot. The bed was comfortable. We had a work area with an office-type chair, a couch, a coffee table and a separate rollout worktable beneath the desk area. This allowed my wife and I the opportunity to set up two work areas, very nice!

Another unique aspect of this hotel is their response to this year’s flu season. Each elevator is equipped with a hand sanitizer dispenser next to the elevator buttons. This is a well thought out service to their guests.

The lobby restaurant was open for breakfast. lunch and dinner. They serve Starbucks's coffee. Breakfast can be a simple as a bagle and cream cheese or cereal and fruit to eggs as you like them, sausage/bacon toast and potatoes. Open seating is available at 4-top tables as well as half circle booths facing into the table area. Each booth has it's own flat screen TV and remote control, so you can finish watching the morning news or keep the kids busy while you eat. We thought this was a very nice touch. There are ground floor meeting rooms and a small shopping area with all the sundries you left at home as well as snacks etc.

The employee service and attitude was top notch! We asked how far the Stephen's Center was from the hotel and how much a taxi would cost to get there. We already knew that parking at the Center was $13+ per day and that we would still have to walk a good distance or take a shuttle and feel obligated to tip the driver. Our desk clerk told us that the hotel shuttle would drop us off and pick us up as it went to and from O'Hare airport at no cost! It runs on the hour and half-hour and all we had to do was call the hotel when we were ready to come back!

As we returned the first night, we asked our shuttle driver for a recommendation for a good place to eat. He told us that Giordano's was only a few blocks away and offered to take us there, and pick us up when we were finished. Everything you've heard about Chicago Deep Dish Pizza is true. It was great!

The next night we were compelled to ask our shuttle driver for another suggestion. Laredo’s Mexican restaurant was another great choice. Tableside guacamole and killer margaritas were some of the best we have ever had. Once again, a phone call and a few minutes wait...(another Margarita)... and we were safely on our way back to the hotel.

The last day they offered to store our bags until we were finished at the Stephen's Center so we didn't have to put them in our car for half a day.

We really felt that this type of service was well above the price range of this type of hotel.

The hotel was very clean and modern and even so, we saw renovation being conducted, none of which affected our stay.

We highly recommend the O'Hare Courtyard by Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin and Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Traveler,

I'm sold and can't wait to check in!!!! Thank you for your review and for doing such a GREAT job in sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor followers. We were thrilled to read that you were able to enjoy the services and amenities of our hotel while taking in some of the wonderful dinning venues the Rosemont area has to offer and yes you're absolutely correct about the guacamole and margaritas at Laredo's.

Thank you again for your comments and for choosing Marriott. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.

All the best!
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall I would expect from a Courtyard. Fast friendly check in. Nice, clean, updated, comfortable room. Updated lobby, computer access for boarding pass, large screen TVs and lounge area. Bistro with made to order light meals and breakfast, also servers beer and wine. I did hear some air traffic in early morning, but I guess that is to be expected when staying near the airport. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Eric,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor Review on your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We were glad to read that your experience with us met the expectations you have grown to have while staying at a Courtyard Hotel.
We hope to see you again in the very near future!
All the best!
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went to Chicago for business and stayed an extra couple of days to visit the city. Although the hotel is a bit far from downtown, the availability of shuttles (free!) and trains make it easy to get there. The shuttle can also drop you at several restaurants nearby which I found to be VERY convenient!

The first room I was given was right next to the highway and I could not sleep due to the noise of cars and trucks passing buy... I asked for a courtyard facing room the next day and was transferred when one became available. Rooms are spacious and clean!

I simply LOVED the courtyard area for reading and eating outside! The pool and jacuzzi was great after a day in the city. There is a really nice casino right next to the hotel (2 min walk) which made for a nice evening.

The staff were all amazing and friendly, especially Jackie (I think?) at the front desk!
Thank you for this wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you are easily bothered by noise, ask for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bell4_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and of the experience you had while staying with us. We are glad you were able to spend a few extra days with us and take in some of the sights our beautiful city has to offer. I also would like to say thank you for recognizing Joanne and the rest of our associates, we are very fortunate to have assembled a team that understands the business we are in and wants the best of experiences for each of our guests.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very good clean hotel for the O"Hare Park Sleep and Fly. Courtesy van was prompt at both the hotel and airport. Easy to get into and out of hotel and onto tollroad.Cheaper hotel rate on Park, Sleep and Fly web site than through Marriott,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick800Morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Nick,
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor Review regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We were thrilled to read that our services and amenities met your needs and that we were prompt in getting you to and from the airport. I was surprised to read that you found a rate cheaper on a Park, Sleep and Fly Web Site. We normally do not participate with such sites due to Marriott's Best Rate Guarantee, if you would be so kind please contact me directly so I can further investigate this.
Thank you again for your posting and for choosing Marriott.
Best regards,
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel rooms ad lobby are updated and nice for a relaxing stay overall. The breakfast in the bistro was good and the shuttle service to the airport was prompt. The only complaint I had was my room faced the casinos parking deck and could here the tires squealing all night as cars entered and left the deck other than that the staff was very friendly and I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Dragons30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed B, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor Review regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare. We were glad to read that your stay with us was relaxing and that you enjoyed having breakfast with us in the Bistro. I didn't realize that you could hear the vehicles leaving the Casino from your guest room, so thank you for bringing that to my attention. We are currently refreshing our guest rooms to give our guest a new experience so we look forward to you returning and letting us know your thoughts.
Thank you again for choosing Marriott!
Ed Brunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites O'Hare
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Rosemont
#10 of 18 in Rosemont
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago O'Hare

Address: 2950 S River Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60018-4203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range: $123 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago o`Hare Hotel Des Plaines
Courtyard Hotel Des Plaines
Courtyard Des Plaines
Des Plaines Marriott
Des Plaines Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing