We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Booked it because my boyfriend had stayed there before for a conference. It was amazing! We arrived just after 10pm after a long drive and were greeted by a very welcoming staff member, who asked about our trip and regretfully said the in-house restaurant was just closed, but offered tips on where else we could eat. The bed was VERY welcoming and comfortable. The room was extremely clean and considerably big. The hotel was also really quiet - I didn't know we were directly under a flight path until the next morning when we went outside to catch the shuttle. Easy access to the Blue line CTA train, which takes you straight downtown in under an hour. The only downfall was that breakfast wasn't free.

It was an amazing trip -- we will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmrbqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    289
    50
    18
    11
See reviews for
320
223
115
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I attended a two-day conference at this hotel. Never had to leave the premises since it had all the amenities I needed...great room, comfortable bed, restaurant, airport shuttle. It was quiet even though we were next to the airport and a busy expressway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank KCbiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Despite being under the flight path for O'hare Airport, the hotel was incredibly quiet. There was no rumbling of the jets or anything. The staff was very helpful and courteous, and answered any questions we had. The food is pretty good, and there is a neat splash pad for kids. The 24hr shuttle service is great if you don't want to drive to the railway station. When I'm back in Chicago, I will definitly be staying here again. I recommend it to anyone travelling in that area. They don't charge for parking with is a big bonus, and they have a fabulous fitness centre, and a business centre, which is handy if you need to get directions off the internet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hepc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alingsas, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed there first for one night when transfering flights on our vacation heading for Florida. During that night we didn't really get to experience the hotel that much. However the shuttle service was great and picked us up right outside the terminal after 5 minutes. The room was like another good hotel room but what really made a difference from other hotels were the beds. They we're really comfortable (not like the once we have at home but the best hotel bed so far). The breakfast in the morning was good especially since it was free (we had some coupons).

After that night we were suppost to stay another night on our way back home but we felt that we would like to see more of Downtown Chicago so we booked another night. So on our way back from Florida we stayed for 2 nights. We decided to get room service because our daugther can be very difficult when the clock is around 5 pm and she's getting hungry. They had a lot to choose from and the price was the same as downstairs.

The next day we went downtown and the hotel shuttle drove us to the railway station and that was a pretty easy way to get downtown. The only problem was it took a long time. The shuttle picked us up when we got back so this was good. In the evening we decided to go down and check out the pool and that was a hit when traveling with small children. This was truly great.

So I must say I was very pleased with this hotel so if I need to spend a night a ohare I will most certainly choose this one.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Staff was always very helpful, whether it was giving us a recommendation on how to travel downtown to the Navy Pier or the John Hancock building. The hot morning breakfast including pancakes or eggs made to order with fruit, juice, bagels, toast, oatmeal and yogurt. No need to go out for breakfast throughout our stay. Room was clean but simple. Will stay again if visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiberguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schaumburg, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed in your Hotel for my Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. All of the others stayed at toe Hyatt Regency. So much nicer and much more relaxing then the over rated hotels. Staff was excellent. Micheal, your bartender was so wonderful and friendly. Food was great, and Managment at this hotel does a wonderful job. Scot and staff are the "BEST"!!!! Stay here if your in town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leyvajcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

This a short note that could be extended into a short story.....
While staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel for girlfriends weekend, we receive exceptional service. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable enough to just lay in way past time to get going.

While an error was made on the billing, they exceeded my expectation in the time it took to correct the error and compensated for the inconvenience on their own.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Over50Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
1.8 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin O'Hare
The Westin O'Hare
#5 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
Address: 2930 S River Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60018-4203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Hilton Garden Inn hotel is a modern contemporary building featuring vaulted ceilings within the lobby and restaurant. The room decor is soft and adequately arranged for the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago o`Hare Airport Hotel Des Plaines
Hilton Garden Inn Des Plaines
Hilton Des Plaines
Des Plaines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing