We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Every time we come to the area we stay here. The hotel is clean, accessible and the staff is friendly. You are only minutes from O'Hare and the L station. The rooms are nice, the beds are super comfortable and they have free wi-fi. They have a pretty nice restaurant here also but I've never actually eaten here so I can't comment on that. Overall, a really nice hotel for a nice price.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ZeusSNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear DerekD925,

Thank you for such a nice response! We are glad we were able to meet your expectations. I will definitely forward such a great response to our staff.

We look forward to any future stays you may have with us!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

HHDiamond was recognized and given a top floor room. This hotel is right off of the Tollway and I expected to hear traffic all night but these rooms are completely soundproof! Clean comfortable rooms and amenities. The restaurant does a booming business at dinner time and the house made salsa for breakfast eggs was outstanding. The kitchen here is very good, no need to wander. Looks like they will shuttle you to any venue nearby. Good choice!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CurtC972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Curt C,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We always make sure our Hilton Honors guests are completely satisfied with our hotel.

I will definitely forward the great feedback to our restaurant staff!

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The HGI is about 10-15 minutes from O'Hare, and about 5-10 minutes from the blue line train into the city. Their free shuttle runs every half hour to both. Travel time to Clark/Lake in the heart of Chicago is about 45 minutes.

Rooms are clean & tidy, the health center is well-equipped, they're just a few minutes from a park, and in addition to the somewhat overpriced but good on-site restaurant, there are other options within walking distance (including a liquor store since their house wine is $9 a glass!).

Breakfast is not included for most travellers. There's a Starbucks and McDonalds not too far away.

Wifi is free and fairly reliable.

Staff are courteous and helpful and they accommodated our group well. No complaints!

FYI, the hotel shuttle pick-up at O'Hare is on the other side of the-irony-Hilton at the airport. It took us about 15 minutes to make the trek from the terminal to the shuttle area. Follow the signs!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadaJoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear JadaJoT,

We appreciate your feedback!

I will be more than happy to share your comments with the rest of our team! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for staying with us. If I can be of personal assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I hope you have a wonderful day!

Best regards,
Dan Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Besides the newest bed linens and cotton comforters on the beds, the rooms are nicely cleaned and the staff is very professional. There is a casino next door and a small park called Axehead Lake about three blocks from the hotel that is ideal for a quick walk or jog between or after meetings. There is clearly a bias toward business meetings at the hotel and overnight travelers who want to get to and from O'Hare but clearly this is wonderful choice for value and convenience. The hotel food is average but the portions for room service are huge for dinner. Two people can easily split one meal and the chicken schnitzel is quite good. Although I cannot rate this hotel 5 star compared to many wonderful places, they do very well in their price class and I would choose it over comparable places every time because of the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty similar and non-descript but the elevators are not in the middle so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dlsmissionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear dismissionary,

Thank you for your kind words! I'll be sure to share them with the staff. I appreciate you staying with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Safe travels,

Dan Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We needed to stay near the city. However, we did not want to pay more than $150. This hotel was just great. The staff was welcoming, even at 12:00 AM when we arrived. The room was very nice and the breakfast was "wonderful." We used the shuttle to get to the train saving us at least $40 in parking fees. The shuttle also picked us up from the airport train station at 2:00 am, after spending the day downtown. I would recommend this hotel for anyone with kids, traveling for business, or who just wants a Staycation. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast included with the room. Call ahead for the shuttle if you are coming in after 11:0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is really good for the price you pay, just a 25-30 min drive from Chicago downtown, this place is good for both leisure and business, they have free shuttle service to and from airport. Breakfast is available for $13.99 which seems like a good deal for a nice breakfast buffet. Parking is free if you have a car. Room are very nice with no smell and house keeping was very good too.

We forgot our toothbrush kit and shaving kit and the hotel was happy to provide us one for free

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Debarshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights and everything was perfect. From check in to check out, the staff was always attentive and asking if everything was going well.
I had breakfast a few times but no dinner there. However, others in my group had dinner and commented that it was very good. The breakfast was great. The wait staff were attentive. The prices for breakfast were in line with most hotels which I consider high $13+. The cost of the rooms for the location were in line.
There was an excellent Shuttle Service provided to the Airport, Restaurant area and entertainment. It also took you to the train station so you could get to downtown Chicago.
This is an excellent alternative to staying in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: They were all pretty much the same and the view is average from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jwildman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
1.8 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
0.9 mi away
The Westin O'Hare
The Westin O'Hare
#6 of 18 in Rosemont
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport

Address: 2930 S River Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60018-4203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range: $102 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Hilton Garden Inn hotel is a modern contemporary building featuring vaulted ceilings within the lobby and restaurant. The room decor is soft and adequately arranged for the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago o`Hare Airport Hotel Des Plaines
Hilton Garden Inn Des Plaines
Hilton Des Plaines
Des Plaines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing