We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Des Plaines Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“no problems”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

there s nothing to complain about this Hotel / nice staff rooms always clean , only thing is the total different view of how to present food to the guests, and what is offered to eat (breakfast) / but there is the U.S so different to Europe anyway I guess....

Other countries other habbits...

And swimming pool could have been a bit colder....puh that was really much too warm...

But all other things / good!

regards

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeS183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We apologize for the inconvenience if the water was above your desired temperature. Please let us know in the future during your stay, we would definitely be more then glad to look into it for you. We usually keep it around 80 degrees on colder days so it can be more enjoyable. We appreciate your input and value your opinions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    84
    52
    22
    23
See reviews for
77
59
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here the night before a flight from Chicago O'Hare. Clean rooms, excellent and friendly service, and a very nice continental breakfast. The real bonus is free parking while you are traveling and a free shuttle to the airport. WIll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are always working on improvements and reviews like this let us know we are on the right track. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I cannot commend the staff and service of this hotel high enough. I was staying in the hotel while visiting my ill father who sadly passed away hours after I'd checked out. I couldn't find the full length of my required extended stay online and on phoning the hotel I was told not to worry, they'd sort it for me. Sort it, they did, and with aplomb.

I arrived back quite in shock and the evening desk staff heroically found me something to eat and explained how they'd arranged my accommodation for the rest of the week as the hotel was 99% booked. When my mother arrived next day, I was again treated with the highest courtesy as they found us a room with two queen beds vs the one I'd been set up in which had a king and pullout sofa.

Earlier in the stay, I'd locked my luggage and lost the key. The night staff again offered multiple tools to help me get back into the bag which I eventually managed to do. A later problem with our heating was resolved within minutes. A small housekeeping issue was also rectified without issue. The warm pool was a welcome respite from the chilly March wind. Magnificent value for money, brilliantly placed if you're visiting the northwest suburbs, in Rosemont for a convention or going to the Allstate Arena for a concert or game. On the doorstep of O'Hare, and short taxi to either the 'L' or Metra.

If you want the Ritz, stay at the Ritz. If you want a good quality place with genuinely great staff, do stay here. I will return. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We greatly appreciate your compliments and it's a personal pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being such a great guest and we value your recommendation. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future and if there is anything we can do or answer any questions, please feel free to contact us at anytime. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is good for the price paid. The rooms are spacious and quiet with refrigerator and microwave, but needed better lighting and larger closets. The indoor pool was warm and comfortable considering it was in the 30's outside, check in and out were fast. We stayed in for the continental breakfast one morning out of the 3 that we were there and it was satisfactory. I do have to compliment them on the coffee that is available 24/7, it was very good. My only issues were with the carpet, it didn't look clean and there isn't a lot of parking. Other than that we had a nice stay. If you fly into O'Hare, this hotel is a few minute drive away. On a personal note, we were in town for a wedding that was scheduled for 3PM. We'd eaten breakfast late and weren't exactly ready for lunch before the wedding. Knowing it would be around 6PM by the time we had dinner I thought I'd go to the front desk and see if they had 3 pieces of fresh fruit left over from breakfast. The manager came out with 3 oranges, 3 bananas and 3 apples for my children and I. I thought that was very nice and gave the hotel a personal touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice compliments and we appreciate your business. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. We are constantly working on improvements and compliments like this help us know exactly how well it's working out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel has reasonable price, indoor pool, shuttle to Ohare, and has good services. Beakfast is full course. Quiet and clear room. Close to town and other shopping places. Refrig and microwave and almost everything you need

Room Tip: bring your swimming stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pros:
* quiet and clean rooms
* free parking, wifi

Cons:
* building looks dark and old
* shuttle to ohare offered only once each way, reason is they send a park ridge taxi for pickup and it took us 30 minutes waiting at the terminal before it even came
* location is several miles from the airport and that's why they cannot afford to run shuttle, quite inconvenient
* heating system really bad...room was freezing to start and the heater overheated the room...no temperature control
* staff not great...our receptionist made us get our shuttle back to ohare half hour before the time we wanted so they could bunch us with another couple...cheap India management

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prodigiouswizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. Please take the time to view the details on the website before you book the reservation, we clearly state that the shuttle is once upon check-in and checkout. We provide the taxi at no additional cost to you and it costs the hotel way more then a shuttle service would, but we do this based on convenience so guests don't have to wait every hour to see a shuttle pass by especially if it's a late night arrival. We appreciate your business, but maybe this wasn't the right hotel for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place is amazing ftom every standpoint. I stay here everytime. They have the most competitive prices in the area, provide shuttle toand from the ohare aairport and always have fresh and tasty breakfast.
I was amazed to find big spacious and clean rooms with micriwave, led tvs, fridge. I had no issues in regard to spending huge amounts on eating out. All I needed was to get frozen food whenever I needed and I was good for the day.
I would surely recommend this place to anybody looking for a decent and comfortable place to stay by himself or with family.

Abhinav

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhinavvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate the positive feedback and thank you for taking the time. We look forward to improving each and every day and positive feedback like this, lets us know we are on the right track. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
#2 of 9 in Des Plaines
860 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn O'Hare
Comfort Inn O'Hare
#4 of 9 in Des Plaines
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
2.2 mi away
Edward Hotel Chicago
Edward Hotel Chicago
#18 of 18 in Rosemont
579 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Des Plaines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Des Plaines Inn

Property: Best Western Des Plaines Inn
Address: 1231 Lee St, Des Plaines, IL 60018-1512 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Des Plaines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn is a first-class hotel located only 3½ miles away from O'Hare Airport and very convenient to Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, home of the Rosemont Expo, and All State Arena, Honeywell, home of the Rosemont Horizon and about 3 miles from the newly opened Rivers Casino. We are 17 miles away from Chicago downtown and one mile away from Des Plaines Metra station. We are 3½ miles from Blue Line which operates 24 hours from downtown to Rosemont.We offer you deluxe accommodations with complimentary hot breakfast, an indoor heated pool, fitness center, meeting room and free parking. There are several major shopping centers located from 3 to 8 miles from the BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn.We provide complimentary airport shuttle from O'Hare once upon check-in and once upon check-out. We have undertaken a major renovation project to give a comfort stay for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Des Plaines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Des Plaines Hotel Des Plaines
Des Plaines Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing