We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable but Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Des Plaines Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night for business. Compared to other places i was staying, it was very clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was good considering it was free. They had a waffle maker, cereal, pastries with the fruit in the middle, along with bagels and hard boiled eggs. The beds were comfortable and had lots of pillows.

The pool is nothing to write home about and there is not a hot tub. There is a fitness center but it has just three machines that are all for cardio. I used the treadmill and it was working fine. They also have a Culligan water machine and towels in the fitness center.

My only complaint is that the menus they have in the rooms for nearby delivery had out-of-date prices so I ended up paying more than I expected for the food.

The shuttle from the airport is actually a taxi service that is run by their company. They had me call the company and let them know where I was going. The hotel pays for the cab but you need to cover tip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckySansei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for posting the positive review and we are glad that you enjoyed the stay. We plan to keep improving and positive reviews like this help us grow and improve for future reservations. Thank you once again and we look forward to having another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 321 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was close to the venue that we attended for New Year's Eve but were left very disappointed. We requested a non-smoking room but the room reeked of cigarettes. The carpet had cigarette burns and the smell was just horrible. We complained to the staff to only be told that there are no other free rooms and that those rooms were indeed smoking rooms three months ago. In addition, when we complained about the bad smell the staff started to question us if the smell was really that bad. To make things worse the room dirty with spider webs throughout the ceiling. The tissue box was empty and the body wash container had 3 drops of soup. Overall, the hotel was one of the worst we have ever stayed in. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kozunak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel and I apologize for the misunderstanding. Please contact us, if you have any additional questions or comments. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night. We didn't expect for this inn to be a 5 star for the price we paid so our expectations WEREN'T high. But some common courtesy things should have been met!! The first MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT was that our requested "NON SMOKING" room reeked of cigarrette smoke. We tried to air it out by leaving the window open and turning the heat on high during the freezing winter month, but that wasn't a permanent solution. The strong smell of cigarrettes was the first thing that hit you when you entered the room. When asked to switch rooms, the concierge was unable to do so as all rooms were booked- frankly I don't really think he cared. There was no attempt to offer us a discount, or try to accomodate/compensate us in some way. He stated that our room used to be a "SMOKING" room only 3 MONTHS AGO!!! I'm sorry but if it was a smoking room and you're trying to switch it to a non smoking room, you need to rip out the carpet, and install new one (as the smell is heavily placed in there) and you need to change the mattress and get a new one, as well as the curtains, sheets, and blanket. Do NOT ADVERTISE YOURSELF AS A NON SMOKING ROOM, when YOU ARE IN ALL SENSE but the fact that we don't smoke. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!! Also, our room wasn't stocked well. The body wash had 2 squirts left in it before it was empty, the kleenex box only 2 tissues before that was empty- that could have been an easy fix probably with calling the concierge, but honestly I didn't even want to bother. I'm usually easy going, and not picky...but sleeping in a heavily smoky room is no fun! The air felt stale and smelled like you were in a cigar bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruskie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only one might thankfully. As soon as we walked into the room it REEKED of cigarettes. It was a gross stale smell which they tried to mask with cleaning products, with little luck. We went downstairs to ask for a room change and were told that it shouldn't smell (when it clearly did) but then proceeded to tell us it was a smoking room only three months ago! THEY SHOULD REALLY LET YOU KNOW YOU MIGHT GET STUCK IN A DISGUSTING SMELLING ROOM!!! We wanted to change rooms but they didnt have any option so we were stuck. On top of that, the sheets were dirty, the towels smelled strongly of bleach and there were huge spiderwebs that could've been easily spotted by the maids. For the price we paid for the room, we were expecting better. Our friends stayed in a room next to us and had the same experience. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ary821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Room was decent, staff is friendly, but a lot of Noise and people Fighting...... Bed was ok lots of pillows!! I would probably stay again. Not bad for the price I stayed 2 nights for $100. Bad location not many restaurants or stores around. Housekeeping was great!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idontwanttosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for the positive feedback. We value your response and will be using it to improve as a team for you and guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Decor is a little dated, walking thru the hall & stairway area. Loud train noise came by sometime in night as did noise from the TV next door. It was right next to the headboard of our bed and sounded like we had our tv on in our room. Called front desk & they took care of it. Pool area nice for swimming laps. Had a really nice breakfast. Due to noise & being waken up by TV & train noises I probably won't stay here again. Our window over looked what looked like a hovel being added on to the building next door. Very low water pressure in the shower. Forgot my tooth brush & front desk staff brought one right up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your time and we appreciate your review. We apologize that your stay has not exceeded your expectations and look forward to having another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I took my daughter to Chicago for Lollapalooza (or however that's spelled) but because of that very reason, we stayed a little further out in the suburbs this year. Having lived in the Chicago area, I know that using public transportation such as the El Train is more convenient than driving in the city, anyway.

The Best Western in Des Plaines was not bad by any means. Rooms and public areas seemed clean, and the air conditioning was fantastic. Decor was a little outdated but that isn't a big deal to me. There's a nice family restaurant right next door to the property.

The parking lot is a pain, though. Spaces are tight and minimal, and at night the lot seems dark and desolate. In fact, the entire lot the hotel is on seems almost too small for the hotel itself... kind of "squeezed in there".

Guest services staff members were decent. Their interactions were somewhat mechanical and methodical, but they were attentive enough. Housekeepers were very friendly and quick to ask if we needed anything.

Still, next year I think we're going to try to be closer to the city. If I needed to be in Des Plaines again, however, I'd consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchaser1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at Best Western Des Plaines Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn O'Hare
Comfort Inn O'Hare
#5 of 9 in Des Plaines
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
#4 of 9 in Des Plaines
107 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#18 of 18 in Rosemont
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Des Plaines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Des Plaines Inn

Address: 1231 Lee St, Des Plaines, IL 60018-1512 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range: $80 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Des Plaines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn is a first-class hotel located only 3½ miles away from O'Hare Airport and very convenient to Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, home of the Rosemont Expo, and All State Arena, Honeywell, home of the Rosemont Horizon and about 3 miles from the newly opened Rivers Casino. We are 17 miles away from Chicago downtown and one mile away from Des Plaines Metra station. We are 3½ miles from Blue Line which operates 24 hours from downtown to Rosemont.We offer you deluxe accommodations with complimentary hot breakfast, an indoor heated pool, fitness center, meeting room and free parking. There are several major shopping centers located from 3 to 8 miles from the BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn.We provide complimentary airport shuttle from O'Hare once upon check-in and once upon check-out. We have undertaken a major renovation project to give a comfort stay for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Des Plaines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Des Plaines Hotel Des Plaines
Des Plaines Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing