We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COULD BE BETTER” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Yorktown Heights
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“COULD BE BETTER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed in many hotels and received friendly service at the front desk,here I did not, nor when I checked out I wasn't asked if I enjoyed my stay. I usually find this common practice when I go to hotels. Also the breakfast could use a makeover.
Also there were no airport shuttles,or shuttles to the convention center

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    78
    48
    19
    23
See reviews for
71
57
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Best Western Des Plaines is an excellent place to stay for the money. The property is in an area that is a easy 16 minute walk to the Metra that takes you into the city or connect up with the blue line to get to wriggly field. The hotel it self is nice with the breakfast that include coffee, tea, juice, bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, and fresh self made waffles. The rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of pillows, comfortable bed, soap, shampoo, and lotion. The best part of this hotel is Alan. He is the person behind the desk when you check in if your lucky. The other people at the hotel were great as well, however Alan went well above and beyond to make our stay an enjoyable one. I can not stay enough good things about what a great job Alan did. Again this hotel is an average hotel in the suburbs, but with Alan excellent people skills he makes this hotel a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

So this was our first trip to Chicago and we did not want to spend our dollars on expensive hotels. This one fits our budget. We booked it for four nights. The check-in was a breeze. The room was as expected. Nothing high end but all expected amenities. Beds were all right for a good night sleep. The included breakfast was OK. We enjoyed our stay. My kids loved the pool. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

stayed 26th may -2nd june, my second stay at this best western.Its a great hotel for the money,the room was spacious and very clean with a good wi fi connection for my PC. You get complimentary continental breakfast each morning and free shuttle from Ohare and the hotel staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: rooms on 3rd floor are the quietist
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We appreciate the positive feedback and we look forward to accommodating you again. We thank you for your business and choosing our best western for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Need to improve the front desk and others service. It also need a reform at the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruoli2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

We had booked this room for four nights while attending a wedding. Three were reward program redemption's and one paid for. The hotel and rooms were filthy. My wife wanted to move to another hotel. I talked her into staying since our first three night's were free. The continental breakfast was horrible. The fruit was rotten. On the fourth day we came to our room to find all our belongings were gone. The hotel staff removed them. The rude, unsympathetic person at the desk stated that we did not have reservations for that day. After showing her our confirmations they brought our belongings back to the room. All of our dress clothes were wrinkled for the wedding. The manager gave us $10.00 off our paid night. Big deal! I stay at many Best Western Hotels for business. I am a platinum elite rewards member. This hotel does not represent the standards of Best Western. I should have listened to my wife.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Wonderful! the manager left a bottle of wine in our guest room wishing us happiness for our marriage! The hot tub was awesome and romantic. Cleanness and appearance as well as room smell was good. Overall satisfaction was high and service/friendliness of staff was good!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are glad that your reservation has exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post this review, It is greatly appreciated. If you are ever in the area again, please feel free to contact us directly and we will make sure to take care of it personally for you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
#18 of 18 in Rosemont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn
Address: 1231 Lee Street, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn is a first-class hotel located only 3½ miles away from O'Hare Airport and very convenient to Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, home of the Rosemont Expo, and All State Arena, Honeywell, home of the Rosemont Horizon and about 3 miles from the newly opened Rivers Casino. We are 17 miles away from Chicago downtown and one mile away from Des Plaines Metra station. We are 3½ miles from Blue Line which operates 24 hours from downtown to Rosemont.We offer you deluxe accommodations with complimentary hot breakfast, an indoor heated pool, fitness center, meeting room and free parking. There are several major shopping centers located from 3 to 8 miles from the BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn.We provide complimentary airport shuttle from O'Hare once upon check-in and once upon check-out. We have undertaken a major renovation project to give a comfort stay for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Des Plaines Hotel Des Plaines
Des Plaines Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing