We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is good and fairly priced.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Grill & Catering

Sunrise Grill & Catering
Ranked #9 of 184 Restaurants in Des Plaines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sunrise Grill is owned by Chef Jose Medina. He believes that food should be as pleasing to the eye as it is to the palette. We make every dish as it is ordered, most from scratch. We offer several gluten free sides, entrees and desserts, and several of our dishes can be made gluten free or without a specific ingredient. We are a B.Y.O.B. Establishment with no corkage fee. Please stop by. We promise you won't be disappointed.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is good and fairly priced.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Staff is terrible second time there both times the staff gets in a huddle and talks forgetting about the customers. The food was good for the money but definitely won't be back due to the staffing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blktoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise_Grill, Manager at Sunrise Grill & Catering, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We're sorry you had an unpleasant experience with us.

This isn't the first review to mention the service.

I'm trying to correct the problem, but I need specifics. Please let me know the day and time that you were at our restaurant so I can determine where or who, the problem is.

Thank you,
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Below average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was very disappointed,service was slow food was horrible..Was expecting better after coworkers suggested this place.never again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise_Grill, Manager at Sunrise Grill & Catering, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
(I know this review is older, but I've just taken over the site)

We're sorry you had a bad experience with us. Do you happen to remember the day and time (breakfast or dinner) you were here? I'm trying to identify when and/or who the problems are.

Thank you for your time,
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiller Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nothing special..food was ok..atmosphere was oaky, sevice was really slow....coffee was also slow...............

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special, good value, lots of choices, good service from a strip mall restaurant. $14 for two for lunch. Big portions and a busy place. This is where the locals go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Tripadvisor, we tracked down this breakfast spot. It was less than a mile from our hotel and Allstate Arena. If I'm ever back in Rosemont, I will definitely go back to Sunrise Grill! The place was really busy for a Friday morning at 9, which to me is a really good sign. I took another reviewer's advise and ordered the Ranchero Nest. It. Was. To. Die. For. Very possibly the best breakfast I have ever eaten. In my life. The has browns were perfection, the chorizo salty and just the right amount of heat. The homemade pico de gallo and guacamole were insanely good. I ate every bite. The staff was very friendly and outgoing. I love this place! Thank you, Tripadvisor!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Grill & Catering also viewed

 
Des Plaines, IL
 

Been to Sunrise Grill & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing